On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781683312994_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $38.95
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2017
ISBN:9781683312994
publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Body on Baker Street

A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery

by Vicki Delany

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
amateur sleuth
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $38.95
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2017
ISBN:9781683312994
publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Description

Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table—dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man inBody on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

About the Author

Vicki Delany is a prolific and varied crime writer whose work includes standalone novels of gothic suspense, the Smith & Winters series, and the light-hearted Klondike Mysteries: Gold Mountain, Gold Digger, Gold Fever, and Gold Web. She lives in Picton, Ontario.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Vicki Delany is a national bestseller in the U.S and one of Canada's most prolific and varied crime writers. A former computer programmer and systems analyst, Vicki lives and writes in bucolic Prince Edward County, Ontario. She is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. This is her second Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery afterElementary, She Read.

Editorial Review

Praise forBody on Baker Street:
“Easily one of the best new mystery series on the market."
–Kate Carlisle,New York Times bestselling author of the Fixer-Upper mysteries and the Bibliophile mysteries

“I defy anyone to…not fall in love with the uber-observant Gemma Doyle…The best new cozy series of the year.”
—Laura DiSilverio, bestselling author of the Readaholics Book Club mysteries and the award-winningThe Reckoning Stones

“Delightful…Sure to please fans of Holmes pastiches and bookstore mysteries.”
Library Journal

“Cozy fans fond of Conan Doyle are most likely to enjoy Delany’s second whodunit.”
Publishers Weekly

“A twisty plot and an engaging main character. This series will appeal both to cozy readers and to Holmesians.”
Booklist

“A light-hearted and delightful romp…A perfect novel to read to while away a rainy afternoon with a cup of tea or to keep you company on vacation.”

Seattle Book Review, five-star review

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Vicki Delany

A Winter Kill

A Winter Kill

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
Haitian Graves

Haitian Graves

A Ray Robertson Mystery
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
Juba Good

Juba Good

A Ray Robertson Mystery
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...