On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062982216_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9780062982216
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAlley

Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds

illustrated by Elise Gravel

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
chapter books, humorous, action & adventure
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9780062982216
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAlley
Description

Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who’s not afraid to tell him when he’s being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.

Everyone's crowing about Arlo & Pips, with Kirkus praising it as "a perfect match for newly independent readers"!

More praise for Arlo & Pips #1: King of the Crows: A New York Public Library Best Book * A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best * A Junior Library Guild Selection * "An unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel’s] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout, making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.” —The Horn Book (starred review)

About the Author

Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!The Cranky BallerinaThe Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com. 

  

Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
6 to 10
Grade:
1 to 5
Awards
  • , Chicago Public Library Best of the Best
  • , New York Public Library’s Best Books for Kids
  • , Junior Library Guild Selection
Editorial Reviews

"Straightforward sentences, limited color scheme, and thick black outlines make this a perfect match for newly independent readers. Through Pips’ inquisitiveness and Arlo’s desire to prove himself, readers also learn much about the intelligence, diet, and behavior of crows. A charming treasure."

— <em>Kirkus Reviews </em><strong>(starred review)</strong>

"Gravel brings the smart attitude of her Disgusting Critters series to a more fictional narrative here, and it’s just as informative and accessible in its provision of kid-pleasing facts...Aspiring birders with a flair for the dramatic may be particularly drawn to Arlo’s braggadocio."

— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Fun and informative! This book will FLY off the shelves!”

— Ben Clanton, bestselling author of the <em>Narwhal and Jelly</em> series

“It's an unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel's] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout...making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.”

— Horn Book <strong>(starred review)</strong>

"This simple story of would-be friendship [has] Gravel's distinctive panels and snappy dialogue...crow facts appear throughout like cereal-box prizes"

— <em>Publishers Weekly</em>

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...