On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062982216_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9780062982216
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAlley

Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds

illustrated by Elise Gravel

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
chapter books, humorous, action & adventure
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9780062982216
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAlley
Description

Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who’s not afraid to tell him when he’s being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.

Arlo & Pips is the HarperCollins Canada Kids' Top Pick for this fall! 

About the Author

Elise Gravel is an award-winning author and illustrator. Well known for her odd critters and unusual drawing style, Elise creates books that are popular with adults and children alike. In 2012 she won the Governor General’s Award for French-language illustration for La clé à molette. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters and two cranky cats.

Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
6 to 10
Grade:
1 to 5
Editorial Reviews

“Fun and informative! This book will FLY off the shelves!”

— Ben Clanton, bestselling author of the <em>Narwhal and Jelly</em> series

"Straightforward sentences, limited color scheme, and thick black outlines make this a perfect match for newly independent readers. Through Pips’ inquisitiveness and Arlo’s desire to prove himself, readers also learn much about the intelligence, diet, and behavior of crows. A charming treasure."

— <em>Kirkus Reviews </em><strong>(starred review)</strong>

"This simple story of would-be friendship [has] Gravel's distinctive panels and snappy dialogue...crow facts appear throughout like cereal-box prizes"

— <em>Publishers Weekly</em>

"Gravel brings the smart attitude of her Disgusting Critters series to a more fictional narrative here, and it’s just as informative and accessible in its provision of kid-pleasing facts...Aspiring birders with a flair for the dramatic may be particularly drawn to Arlo’s braggadocio."

— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...