Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Chapter Books

Arlo & Pips #3: New Kids in the Flock

illustrated by Elise Gravel

Publisher
HarperCollins
Initial publish date
Apr 2022
Category
Chapter Books, Action & Adventure, Humorous
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780063050792
    Publish Date
    Apr 2022
    List Price
    $9.99
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780062351258
    Publish Date
    Apr 2022
    List Price
    $15.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 6 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 5

Description

In the grand finale of Elise Gravel's graphic chapter book series that Kirkus called "a charming treasure," Arlo the crow is going to be a dad! The third book in this quirky series from acclaimed author Elise Gravel is perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Castronauts.

Parenting is tough—even for a genius like Arlo—but luckily he isn’t alone: his partner Marla and Uncle Pips are there to help! From building a new nest and taking care of Marla while she incubates the eggs to teaching the chicks everything they need to know, Arlo has his wings full. Join Arlo, Pips, Marla, and the new chicks as they explore this next big chapter in their lives.

Snappy dialogue paired with a limited color scheme that's perfect for newly independent readers, this final story has tons of amazing "kid-pleasing" bird facts.

More praise for Arlo & Pips #1: King of the Crows: A New York Public Library Best Book * A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best * A Junior Library Guild Selection * "An unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel’s] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout, making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.” —The Horn Book (starred review)

About the author

 

ELISE GRAVEL a écrit et illustré une vingtaine d'albums jeunesse. La jeune auteure use d'un humour mordant pour exprimer ses vues et éveiller le sens critique de ses jeunes lecteurs. Elise a remporté le prix du Gouverneur général en 2012 dans la catégorie illustrations pour son livre La clé à molette.

 

 

 

ELISE GRAVEL has won a Governor General's Award for illustration, two Applied Arts Awards and a Grafika award. She also was short-listed for Mr. Christie's Book Award. She has written and illustrated several books for children in both French and English. Elise lives in Montreal, Quebec.

 

 

 

Elise Gravel's profile page

Other titles by Elise Gravel