Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Music General

Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Secular and Sacred Music to 1900

by (author) Laurel Parsons & Brenda Ravenscroft

Oxford University Press
Initial publish date
Nov 2018
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2018
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Through musical analysis of compositions written between the mid-twelfth to late nineteenth centuries, this volume celebrates the achievements of eight composers, all women: Hildegard of Bingen, Maddalena Casulana, Barbara Strozzi, Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Marianne Martines, Josephine Lang, Fanny Hensel, Clara Schumann, and Amy Beach. Written by outstanding music theorists and musicologists, the essays provide fascinating in-depth critical-analytic explorations of representative compositions, often linking analytical observations with questions of meaning and sociohistorical context. Each essay is introduced by a brief biographical sketch of the composer by the editors.

The collection - Volume 1 in an unprecedented four-volume series of analytical studies on music by women composers - is designed to challenge and stimulate a wide range of readers. For academics, these thoughtful analytical essays can open new paths into unexplored research areas in the fields of music theory and musicology. Post-secondary instructors may be inspired by the insights offered in these essays to include new works in music theory and history courses at both graduate and upper-level undergraduate levels, or in courses on women and music. Finally, for soloists, ensembles, conductors, and music broadcasters, these detailed analyses can offer enriched understandings of this repertoire and suggest fresh, new programming possibilities to share with listeners.

About the authors

Contributor Notes

Laurel Parsons has taught music theory and aural skills at the University of British Columbia, the University of Victoria, Queen's University, and the University of Oregon. Her research interests include aural skills pedagogy and learning differences, and the music of Elisabeth Lutyens. From 2012-15 she chaired the Society for Music Theory's Committee on the Status of Women.

Brenda Ravenscroft is Professor of Music Theory and Dean of the Schulich School of Music at McGill University. Her research focuses on post-tonal American music, text and music, rhythmic organization, and pedagogy. She chaired the Society for Music Theory's Committee on the Status of Women from 2006 to 2009.

Other titles by Laurel Parsons

Other titles by Brenda Ravenscroft