On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780385690799_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2018
ISBN:9780385690799
publisher: Doubleday Canada

An Unwanted Guest

by Shari Lapena

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological, contemporary women, suspense
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2018
ISBN:9780385690799
publisher: Doubleday Canada
Description

A remote lodge in upstate New York is the perfect winter wonderland getaway . . . until the bodies start piling up.

It's winter in the Catskills and the weather outside is frightful, but Mitchell's Inn is so delightful! The cozy lodge nestled deep in the woods is perfect for a relaxing--maybe even romantic--weekend away. The Inn boasts spacious old rooms with huge wood-burning fireplaces, a well-stocked wine cellar and opportunities for cross-country skiing, snowshoeing or just curling up with a book and someone you love.

So when the weather takes a turn for the worse and a blizzard cuts off the electricity--and all contact with the outside world--the guests settle in for the long haul. The power's down but they've got candles, blankets and firewood--a genuine rustic experience!

Soon, though, a body turns up--surely an accident. When a second body appears, they start to panic. Then they find a third body.

Within the snowed-in paradise, something--or someone--is picking off the guests one by one. They can't leave, and with no cell service, there's no prospect of getting the police in until the weather loosens its icy grip.

The weekend getaway has turned deadly. For some couples, it's their first time away. For others, it will be their last. And there's nothing they can do about it but huddle in and hope they can survive the storm.

About the Author

Shari Lapena was a lawyer and English teacher before turning to writing fiction. Her work has been shortlisted for the CBC Literary Awards and in 2004 she won the Great Toronto Literary Project. Things Go Flying was shortlisted for the 2009 Sunburst Award. She has been featured in The Dalhousie Review, The Globe and Mail and is an alumnus of the Humber School for Writers, and is the bestselling author of The Couple Next Door, A Stranger in the House, and An Unwanted Guest. She makes her home in Toronto.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

SHARI LAPENA worked as a lawyer and as an English teacher before turning to writing fiction. A Stranger in the House, as well as Lapena's suspense debut, The Couple Next Door, were both New York Times and international bestsellers.

Editorial Review

#1 National Bestseller
International Bestseller
New York Times Bestseller

"Shari Lapena, author of the bestsellers A Stranger in the House and The Couple Next Door, cements her reputation as a new queen of mystery with her latest thriller." —Canadian Living

"Proving that time periods may change but people do not, Shari Lapena delivers a solid whodunit with an ending that would make Dame Christie proud." —USA Today
"Another nail-biter perfect for an all-nighter." —Entertainment Weekly

"A bone-chilling story featuring a cast of intriguing characters, each one with a secret of their own, An Unwanted Guest is a deftly crafted and expertly paced thriller that will keep readers guessing (and terrified) until the very end." —Bustle

"Lapena has written a great whodunit, with a delicious Christie-like vibe. Fans of the author's first novel will want this, and anyone who savors a well-crafted murder mystery will gobble it up!" —Library Journal, starred review

"This once again shows [Lapena's] gift for smart characterization combined with subtle appreciation for the darkness of the human heart. . . . A perfectly choreographed danse macabre" —The Mail on Sunday

"A gripping mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie." —Good Housekeeping
"The psychological thrillers of Lapena are masterclasses in tightly plotted, economical narrative. . . . This third novel has a premise straight out of an Agatha Christie classic" —Metro (UK)

"An intriguing cast, an isolated location, a raging storm and the threat of death in every dark corner: An Unwanted Guest reads like Agatha Christie with a shot of adrenalin. Clear your desk before you start it because you won't want to put it down." —Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Know You Know

"If you're a fan of Lapena's previous novels, you're sure to tear through her latest in one sitting. . . . The chilly suspense keeps readers guessing up to the very last page." —The Irish Independent 

"Shari Lapena combines the cozy feel and cunning plot of an Agatha Christie-era whodunit with a sharp eye for contemporary life, and she is rapidly becoming a go-to author for anyone seeking a light but lip-smacking mystery" —Sunday Express

"This compelling and realistic modern take on the country-house mystery will gain new fans for the author and is definitely one to hand to devotees of Agatha Christie (and her modern interpreter, Sophie Hannah)." —Booklist

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “An Unwanted Guest”

Other Titles by Shari Lapena

Things Go Flying

Things Go Flying

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged :
More Info
Happiness Economics

Happiness Economics

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged :
More Info
The Couple Next Door

The Couple Next Door

A Novel
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...