Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Book Lists

Shaughnessy Cohen Finalists 2018

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has named the five finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The winner will be announced in Ottawa on May 9, 2018, at the annual Politics and the Pen gala.   Finalist books include biographies of the tenth prime minister of Canada and the first prime minister of the Dominion of Newfoundland, a journalist’s and a soldier’s two very different perspectives on the personal impacts of war, and an investigation of the lives and tragic deaths of seven Indigenous high school students.   The finalists, selected by a jury composed of University of Victoria professor of Indigenous governance Taiaiake Alfred, former Shaughnessy Cohen Prize winner and University of Toronto professor Joseph Heath, and political journalist and commentator Kady O’Malley, are:

by Kerry Clare · Tagged political writing, Shaughnessy Cohen Prize, 2018