Recommended Reading List
CLA's 2014 YA Book Award Shortlist
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

CLA's 2014 YA Book Award Shortlist

By 49thShelf
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
tagged: ya, cla, 2014, awards
The Canadian Library Association is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2014 Young Adult Book Award. The award is generously sponsored by Library Services Centre. This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English-language Canadian work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories or graphic novel), published in 2013 that appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. The winner of the award, and the Honour Books, will be announced the week of April 14th. The award will be presented at the Canadian Library Association 2014 National Conference and Trade Show in Victoria, BC on May 29 at the annual awards reception.
The Silent Summer of Kyle McGinley

The Silent Summer of Kyle McGinley

125 Years of the World's Biggest Bonspiel
edition:Paperback

When no one listens, what's the point of talking? Kyle McGinley doesn't say a word. Fed up with being shuttled from one foster care home to another, he has stopped speaking. But at the home of Scott and Jill Wardman, with the help of a crow, and a swamp, and an excess of blank paint, he begins to think that maybe, just maybe, life could be better. As long as his frigging dad doesn't mess things up.

More Info
Graffiti Knight

Graffiti Knight

edition:Paperback

After a childhood cut short by war and the harsh strictures of Nazi Germany, sixteen-year-old Wilm is finally tasting freedom. In spite of the scars World War II has left on his hometown, Leipzig, and in spite of the oppressive new Soviet regime, Wilm is finding his own voice. It's dangerous, of course, to be sneaking out at night to leave messages on police buildings. But it's exciting, too, and Wilm feels justified, considering his family's suffering. Until one mission goes too far, and Wilm f …

More Info
Little Red Lies

Little Red Lies

edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback

     The war is over, but for thirteen-year-old Rachel, the battle has just begun. Putting childhood behind her, she knows what she wants - to prove she has acting talent worthy of the school drama club, and what she doesn't want - to romantically fall for someone completely inappropriate. Worries about her veteran brother's failing health and repugnance at her mother's unexpected and unwanted pregnancy drive her to seek solace from a seemingly sympathetic, but self-serving teacher. The lies she …

More Info
Nix Minus One

Nix Minus One

edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback

Fifteen-year-old Nix Humbolt doesn't talk much. He's barely outgrown his "Fatty Humbolt" days, and although he is taller and leaner now, he has learned it is best to keep a low profile. He dreams about his only friend's girl, but of course she is hopelessly out of his league. Lonely and introverted, he is happiest in his father's woodworking shop, where he builds exquisite boxes and tables. The only battles Nix fights are on his Xbox - until the day he finds the guts to fight for Swiff Dunphy's …

More Info
The Oathbreaker's Shadow

The Oathbreaker's Shadow

edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, and George R.R. Martin are going to love this action-filled fantasy novel by an exciting and extremely promotable debut voice in the genre. 
     In the world of fifteen-year-old Raim, you tie a knot for every promise you make. Break that promise and the knot will burst into flames, scarring your skin and forever marking you as an oathbreaker. Raim has worn a simple knot around his wrist for as long as he can remember. No one seems to know where it came f …

More Info
Audacious

Audacious

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback

Sixteen-year-old Raphaelle says the wrong thing, antagonizes the wrong people and has the wrong attitude. She can't do anything right except draw, but she draws the wrong pictures. When her father moves the family to a small prairie city, Raphaelle wants to make a new start. Reborn as "Ella," she tries to fit in at her new school. She's drawn to Samir, a Muslim boy in her art class, and expresses her confused feelings in explicit art. When a classmate texts a photo of Ella's art to a younger fri …

More Info
The Color of Silence

The Color of Silence

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook

Alex is seventeen years old and she feels her life has come to an end. After being involved in an accident that killed her best friend, she doesn’t see why anyone would want her around and she refuses to talk. Ordered by a judge to do community service, she must spend time at a hospital with a girl named Joanie, who has minimal control of her body and no speech.?? Never having known another way of being, Joanie has an extraordinary internal life. She has been listening and watching as the worl …

More Info
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

edition:Paperback

Two-time Governor General's Award nominee Teresa Toten is back with a compulsively readable new book for teens!
When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He's determined to protect and defend her--to play Batman to her Robyn--whatever the cost. But when you're fourteen and the everyday problems of dealing with divorced parents and step-siblings are supplemented by the challenges of OCD, it' …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...