On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781508299424_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32.00
edition:Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2020
ISBN:9781508299424

When We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald, read by Phoebe Strole

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
coming of age, humorous, non-classifiable
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32.00
edition:Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2020
ISBN:9781508299424
Description

Indie Next Pick for February 2020
Book of the Month January 2020
LibraryReads January 2020 Pick
Bookreporter New Release Spotlight
New York Post “Best Books of the Week”
Goodreads “January’s Most Anticipated New Books”
The Saturday Evening Post “10 Books for the New Year”
PopSugar “The 18 Best New Books Coming Out in January 2020”
Book Riot Best Winter New Releases
A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Sometimes life isn’t as simple as heroes and villains.
For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert, life is best lived with some basic rules:
1. A smile means “thank you for doing something small that I liked.”
2. Fist bumps and dabs = respect.
3. Strange people are not appreciated in her home.
4. Tomatoes must go in the middle of the sandwich and not get the bread wet.
5. Sometimes the most important things don’t fit on lists.
But when Zelda finds out that Gert has resorted to some questionable—and dangerous—methods to make enough money to keep them afloat, Zelda decides to launch her own quest. Her mission: to be legendary. It isn’t long before Zelda finds herself in a battle that tests the reach of her heroism, her love for her brother, and the depth of her Viking strength.
When We Were Vikings is an uplifting debut about an unlikely heroine whose journey will leave you wanting to embark on a quest of your own, because after all...
We are all legends of our own making.

About the Authors
Andrew David MacDonald grew up in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. He won a Western Magazine Award for Fiction, was shortlisted for the Canadian National Magazine Award for Fiction, and his work has been anthologized in four volumes of The Journey Prize Stories, collecting the year’s best Canadian stories from emerging writers. He has an MFA from the Program for Poets and Writers at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.
 
Author profile page >

Andrew David MacDonald grew up in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. He won a Western Magazine Award for Fiction, was shortlisted for the Canadian National Magazine Award for Fiction, and his work has been anthologized in four volumes of The Journey Prize Stories, collecting the year’s best Canadian stories from emerging writers. He has an MFA from the Program for Poets and Writers at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.
 
Author profile page >
Editorial Review

"This gem of a performance by narrator Phoebe Strole shines so bright that it will surely catch the eye (or ear) of any listener. Viking enthusiast Zelda fiercely lives her life without apology. Her fetal alcohol syndrome is a mere hiccup in her plan to write her own legend. While she's determined to become her own person as she migrates into her 20s, life becomes more difficult when she discovers that her brother, Gert, has been dealing drugs in order to support the two of them financially. Strole's innocent and thoughtful tone is custom tailored to Zelda's curious and vivid personality. Listeners will also find each supporting character complex, real, and unique. With Strole's raw approach, this spectacular story and performance will be a fantastic addition to any audio library."

— Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award, AudioFile Magazine

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...