Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Unquiet, The

by (author) Ian Burgham

Quattro Books
Initial publish date
Nov 2012
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2012
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.


Ian Burgham's poems are often as rugged and darkly haunted as the Scottish coasts some of them visit, and many concern personal loss and longing, while being capable as well of great tenderness. These are also the poems of an international traveler who brings a distinctive philosophical mind and visionary eye to bear simultaneously on what is impermanent and on what endures in the world's geography.

About the author

Ian Burgham, is an associate of the League of Canadian Poets. In 2004 he won the Queen’s University Well-Versed Poetry Prize. He is a graduate of both Queen’s University and the University of Edinburgh, and has lived for extended periods in various parts of the world. He served as a senior editor at Canongate Publishing in Edinburgh during the early 1980s. His poems have been published in a number of literary journals and magazines including dANDelion, Queen’s Quarterly, Scottish Arts Journal, Harpweaver, and the Literary Review of Canada. Burgham has had one poetry book published in the United Kingdom: Confession of Birds, (2003 chapbook). His first full collection of poems, The Stone Skippers, will be published in Australia and New Zealand by Sunline Press, Perth (introduction by Newcastle Prize winning poet, Roland Leach) and, in the UK by MacLean Dubois Publishers in February 2007 (Introduction by novelist and poet, Alexander McCall Smith). He is currently working on his third collection. Ian works as a volunteer to further the efforts of the Griffin Prize for Excellence in Poetry. He is an adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at Queen’s University.

Ian Burgham's profile page

Other titles by Ian Burgham