Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction Thrillers & Suspense

The Unquiet Past

by (author) Kelley Armstrong

Publisher
Orca Book Publishers
Initial publish date
Sep 2015
Category
Thrillers & Suspense, Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural, Orphans & Foster Homes
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781459806542
    Publish Date
    Sep 2015
    List Price
    $14.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781459806580
    Publish Date
    Sep 2015
    List Price
    $11.99
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781459810891
    Publish Date
    Sep 2015
    List Price
    $19.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
  • Reading age: 12 to 18

Description

Tess has always been tormented by waking visions that make her question her sanity. When the orphanage she lives in burns down, she decides to face her fears and find out once and for all what is wrong with her. She believes the truth must lie with her parents, and so, armed with only an address and phone number, Tess travels to a crumbling mansion in rural Quebec, where she discovers evidence of mistreatment of mental patients. She also makes an unlikely ally and gradually unearths her family’s sad history—and finally accepts the truth about her paranormal powers.
Part of the SECRETS—a series of seven linked novels that can be read in any order.

About the author

When librarians finally granted Kelley Armstrong an adult card, she made straight for the epic fantasy and horror shelves. She spent the rest of her childhood and teen years happily roaming fantastical and terrible worlds, and vowed that someday she'd write a story combining swords, sorcery, and the ravenous undead. That story began with the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows and continues with Empire of Night.

Armstrong's first works for teens were the New York Times bestselling Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising trilogies. She lives in rural Ontario with her husband, three children, and far too many pets.

Kelley Armstrong's profile page

Awards

  • Short-listed, Red Maple Fiction
  • Short-listed, Snow Willow Nominee
  • Commended, CCBC Best Books for Kids & Teens
  • Short-listed, Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People Nominee

Editorial Reviews

"Part of a series of seven linked but independent novels, The Unquiet Past can stand on its own as intended but will likely entice readers to seek out the rest of the series. This fast-paced paranormal thriller will appeal to fans of Caroline B. Cooney and Lois Duncan. Tess is inexperienced and naïve, but despite her secret visions and fear that she is going crazy, she is a strong, independent young woman who learns from her mistakes.The story is grounded in time and place, with just enough historical details on Metis, French-language rights, and psychological research to enhance the story."

VOYA

"Readers will find the mystery of what was going on at the abandoned house both intriguing and scary. That Tess and Jackson operate so independently will appeal to the age group, too. Bonus points to Armstrong for highlighting the history of mental illness in Canada and Campbell’s despicable treatment of depressed women. Settings of small-town Hope, the restrictive orphanage, the spooky mansion that holds so many scary possibilities and the McGill campus will hold readers’ interest and inspire them to reach for the other books in the series."

Resource Links

"The realistic landscape of racist microagressions that plague Métis Jackson is heartbreakingly matter-of-fact. A compelling mystery."

Kirkus Reviews

"Tess’s spunk, determination, and sense of adventure will turn readers into allies immediately. It’s hard not to root for someone who has nothing and is ready to pursue any possible clue at all costs...Armstrong does an excellent job navigating difficult issues, including racism and mental illness...A compelling story that’s difficult to put down."

CM Magazine

"Features a creepy supernatural element. Tess’s search for the meaning of her waking visions leads her to an abandoned mental hospital, a series of illegal experiments, and a boy who’s looking for answers of his own."

School Library Journal

"This would make a great read aloud as it would stimulate discussions and questions around mental health and medical ethics. Learning a little about the past in this historical fiction may help students understand the need for effective well-being initiatives today."

Ms. J's Book Reviews 4 School Libraries blog

Other titles by Kelley Armstrong

Related lists