On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780143189169_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2017
ISBN:9780143189169

The Truth Commission

by Susan Juby

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
siblings, assimilation
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2017
ISBN:9780143189169
Description

A quirky, darkly funny novel from an acclaimed author--great for fans of Libba Bray and E. Lockhart.

     Normandy Pale and her friends are The Truth Commission. They have no fear; they're committed to exposing the things that no one else is brave enough or tactless enough to ask about at their high school for artists. But then, one of their truth targets says to Normandy: "If you want to know about the truth, you might want to look a little closer to home." 
     Written as "narrative nonfiction" by Normandy herself, this unique--and uniquely compelling--story features footnotes, illustrations and a combination of mystery/love story that will capture readers from the first page.

Contributor Notes

SUSAN JUBY has written a number of acclaimed novels for teenagers and adults, including the bestselling Alice, I Think, a Rolling Stone Best Top 40 Novel and the first of her Alice MacLeod trilogy, which was made into a successful television series. She is also the author of a memor, Nice Recovery, and the adult comic novel The Woefield Poultry Collective and its sequel, Republic of Dirt: Return to Woefield. She is currently working on another book set at the Green Pastures Academy of Art and Applie Design. Susan lives with her huband and their dog in Nanaimo, BC. Please visit her website at www.susanjuby.com.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
12 to 100
Grade:
7 to 17
Editorial Review

“In a tell-all, socially networked world, balancing the right to know (and use) 'the truth' against the right to privacy is both confusing and challenging. Readers will root for these engaging characters to chart a successful course through these murky waters. Hilarious, deliciously provocative and slyly thought-provoking, Juby's welcome return is bound to ignite debate.” - Kirkus Review (starred review)

“The narrative/book is smart, darkly funny, sad, and heartening as Normandy learns some hard truths, how to stand up for herself, and how to take charge of her own destiny. While there is no reconciliation in sight, there’s no doubt that the truth has set her free. A surprising, witty, and compulsive read.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“You know how we have terms like "Dickensian?" I vote that from here on in we should also have "Jubyesque," to describe something particularly funny, offbeat and original.” - Susin Nielsen, author of the Governor General Award-winning The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...