Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Psychological

The Swap

by (author) Robyn Harding

Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Initial publish date
Jun 2020
Category
Psychological, Contemporary Women, Psychological
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781982144777
    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price
    $7.98 USD
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781982144760
    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price
    $24.99
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781797106519
    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price
    $19.99 USD
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781982144784
    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price
    $26.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781982171698
    Publish Date
    Apr 2021
    List Price
    $12.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

“No list of thrillers is complete without Robyn Harding,” proclaims Real Simple. Now the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Party delivers a riveting tale about the toxic relationship between two couples after a night of sexual shenanigans, and the manipulative teenager with an explosive secret at the center of it all.

Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in—and neither does Freya, an ethereal beauty and once-famous social media influencer who now owns the local pottery studio.
After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging...that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again.
Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but instead, it upends their lives. And provides Low the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment.
Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as “fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell.

About the author

"

Robyn Harding is the author of four successful novels including The Secret Desires of a Soccer Mom and Unravelled. Her first teen novel, My Parents are Sex Maniacs, will be published in 2009. She is a contributing editor at Granville Magazine, a lifestyle publication with a focus on sustainability. This is her first nonfiction book. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

"

Robyn Harding's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“Robyn Harding is an expert at slowly building creeping dread and The Swap was no exception. In what is undoubtedly her best book yet, Harding explores toxic friendships, obsession, and swinging, bringing a lonely, slightly sociopathic teenager into center of it all. The outcome is explosive, sexy, and completely absorbing. The Swap is guaranteed to be a must read this summer!”
— KATE MORETTI, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year and In Her Bones

“Robyn Harding has upped her game with the page-turning and completely riveting The Swap. Harding deftly explores toxic friendship, desire, and obsession in this engrossing novel, in which two couples—one a glittering pair of former celebrities, the other stalwart high school sweethearts—become entangled in a web of secrets and jealousy. This is a clear-your-night-and-read-in-one-sitting book!” 
— KATHLEEN BARBER, author of Follow Me

“Two young couples. One remote island. And a night that goes too far. What could possibly go wrong? Robyn Harding’s The Swap is everything I've come to love about her books—provocative, sexy and full of surprises!”
— WENDY WALKER, bestselling author of The Night Before

“A new book from Harding is always a treat.”
— CrimeReads

Praise for The Swap
 

“[A] deliciously scarifying story . . . No reader is likely to guess at the tantalizing path that winds its way to murder.”
— Toronto Star

“In this intense character study, the veneer of each person cracks . . . Fans of psychological thrillers will be satisfied.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Gripping from the first line, The Swap is a wickedly delicious, addictive, utterly compelling read about obsession, toxic relationships, and dangerous secrets. I devoured every dark, twisted word until the last explosive scene. An absolute must-read, this suspense will shock and rivet readers through each masterful page.”
— SAMANTHA M. BAILEY, #1 bestselling author of Woman on the Edge

“Harding conjures a dark, inescapable feeling of intimidation on this remote island astir with gossip and lies. . . . [This] dark tale will please readers who enjoy delving into the details of a character’s personality and motivations.”
— Booklist

“Nearly everyone in this passion play becomes delightfully unhinged in the end. . . . Dangerously addictive.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“There are books born for summer reading and The Swap is one of them. Steamy sex, obsession, partner swapping—this one has it all. Vancouver author Robyn Harding keeps the reader engaged with a group of fascinating characters, each with a secret.”
— The Globe and Mail

Other titles by Robyn Harding

Related lists