Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction General

The Substitute

by (author) Nicole Lundrigan

Publisher
House of Anansi Press Inc
Initial publish date
Jun 2017
Category
General, Suspense, Thrillers
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781487002350
    Publish Date
    Jun 2017
    List Price
    $19.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781487002367
    Publish Date
    Jun 2017
    List Price
    $16.95
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781487004378
    Publish Date
    Feb 2018
    List Price
    $34.99
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781487004941
    Publish Date
    Feb 2018
    List Price
    $34.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, The Substitute is a deliciously creepy psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Warren Botts is a disillusioned Ph.D. taking a break from his lab to teach middle-school science. Gentle, soft-spoken, and introverted, Warren befriends thirteen-year-old Amanda, a lonely student looking for guidance.

One morning, Warren returns from a jog to find Amanda dead, hanging from a tree in his backyard. A police investigation follows, but Warren is unable — or unwilling — to answer the questions that swirl around him. Suspicions mount, and Warren’s peaceful neighbours quickly become hostile.

Meanwhile, an anonymous narrator who possesses a dangerous combination of extreme intelligence and emotional detachment offers insight into events past and present. As the tension builds, we gain an intimate understanding of the power of memories, secrets, and lies.

About the author

Nicole Lundrigan is the author of four previous novels. Glass Boys was a Now magazine top ten book of the year and an Amazon.ca top 100 book of the year. Unraveling Arva was a Globe and Mail top ten pick, Thaw was longlisted for the Relit Award, and The Seary Line received an honourable mention for the Sunburst Award. She lives in Ontario.

Nicole Lundrigan's profile page

Other titles by Nicole Lundrigan

Related lists

Related blog posts