Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Historical

The Heart That Knows

by (author) Charles G.D. Roberts

introduction by Dr Carrie Macmillan

series edited by Gwendolyn Davies

Formac Publishing Company Limited
Initial publish date
Nov 2002
Historical, Literary
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2002
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The Heart That Knows is a touching story of passion and loss set against the stunning landscape of New Brunswick's Tantramar Marshes.
On her wedding day Luella Warden is suddenly abandoned without a word of explanation from her sailor fiancé. The years pass, and she's left to the life of an outcast, scorned by her community for being a mother but not a wife. Her son grows up without a father, coming of age with a burning need to to seek vengeance on the man who treated his mother so cruelly.
Set in the author's childhood home of Westcock, New Brunswick, The Heart That Knows is a deeply touching novel of steadfast courage and the triumph of truth.
A Formac Fiction Treasures series title.

About the authors

Charles G.D Roberts (1860-1943) was a poet and prose writer. After a childhood in New Brunswick, he became a heralded poet who later turned to fiction, writing an extensive series of animal stories and pioneering a genre that remains popular today. His works include Eyes of the Wilderness, The Vagrant of Time, and Earth's Enigmas. Roberts spent the last years of his life in Toronto, where he died.

Charles G.D. Roberts' profile page

Dr Carrie Macmillan's profile page

Gwendolyn Davies is an emerita professor of English and dean of graduate studies at the University of New Brunswick. She has published or edited six books and over sixty articles and book chapters on pre-1940 Atlantic literature and on the history of the book in Canada. Books include Studies in Maritime Literary History and a scholarly edition of Thomas McCulloch’s The Mephibosheth Stepsure Letters.

Gwendolyn Davies' profile page

Other titles by Charles G.D. Roberts

Other titles by Gwendolyn Davies