Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Horror

The Handyman Method

A Story of Terror

by (author) Nick Cutter & Andrew F. Sullivan

Publisher
Gallery Books
Initial publish date
Aug 2023
Category
Horror, Domestic, Small Town & Rural
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781982196714
    Publish Date
    Aug 2023
    List Price
    $24.99
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781982196721
    Publish Date
    Aug 2023
    List Price
    $36.99
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781982196738
    Publish Date
    Aug 2023
    List Price
    $13.99 USD

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

A chilling domestic story of terror for fans of Black Mirror and The Amityville Horror.

When a young family moves into an unfinished development community, cracks begin to emerge in both their new residence and their lives, as a mysterious online DIY instructor delivers dark subliminal suggestions about how to handle any problem around the house. The trials of home improvement, destructive insecurities, and haunted house horror all collide in this thrilling story perfect for fans of Nick Cutter’s bestsellers The Troop and The Deep.

About the authors

Nick Cutter is the author of the critically acclaimed national bestseller The Troop (which is currently being developed for film with producer James Wan), as well as The Deep and Little Heaven. He is the pseudonym for Craig Davidson, whose much-lauded literary fiction includes Rust and BoneThe Saturday Night Ghost Club, and most recently the short story collection Cascade. His story “Medium Tough” was selected by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jennifer Egan for The Best American Short Stories 2014. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

Nick Cutter's profile page

Andrew F. Sullivan is from Oshawa, Ontario, and graduated from the University of Toronto. He has worked in a liquor warehouse and a video game store, and is the associate fiction editor for The Puritan. Andrew’s writing has been been published in a number of literary journals, including Grain, Joyland, and Little Fiction. All We Want is Everything is his first book.

Andrew F. Sullivan's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"The Handyman Method is a window into our deepest fears via strange and insidious how-to videos. Cutter and Sullivan have created a hallucinatory, chilling read that raises its level of dread and tension with each turn of the page...horrifying." —Gus Moreno, acclaimed author of This Thing Between Us

“Surreal and disturbing…a diabolical tale of toxic masculinity gone awry…a collaborative triumph.” —CrimeReads

“Gruesome and grisly…The Handyman Method tears out of the gates and doesn’t let up much as things go from bad to worse to somehow worse…The pace is relentless…The vibe throughout is one of unsettling, mounting dread that rarely falters….horror fans are sure to appreciate [the novel’s] subtle nods to classics of the genre, as well as the direction Cutter and Sullivan take their dark tale of home improvement gone horribly awry.” Winnipeg Free Press

“Dark, brutal, and deeply unsettling….This is a terrific horror novel, with a spellbinding story full of surprises and superb writing that is vivid, visceral, and, at times, darkly beautiful. The ending is gloriously, thrillingly shocking. For horror fans, it’s a must-read.” Booklist

"Unrelentingly brutal…An acid-tripping horror version of the classic sitcom Home Improvement.” Grimdark Magazine

"Deeply disturbing...[a] gripping tale, well-written modern horror...Cutter and Sullivan never fail to miss an opportunity to chill and repulse simultaneously....a near-classic chiller that you won’t soon forget." Bookreporter

“For readers simply looking for a hard-to-put-down supernatural horror novel, The Handyman Method is an excellent pick. An unconventional haunted house story...with visceral imagery. A must-read.” —Horror Geek Life

“A horror tale designed to scare the dickens out of the reader.” New York Journal of Books

“Nightmare territory…Often terrifying, consistently unsettling, and dripping with mounting dread, Cutter and Sullivan have created a modern masterpiece.” —Richard Chizmar, New York Times bestselling author of Chasing the Boogeyman

“A brutal yet modern twist on the haunted-house story….Full of moments…that will burrow under readers’ skin.” Library Journal

Other titles by

Other titles by

Related lists