Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction General

The Ferryman Will Be There

An Ellis Portal Mystery

by (author) Rosemary Aubert

McArthur & Company
Initial publish date
Sep 2002
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Sep 2002
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Ellis Portal is recruited by Toronto police detective Matt West to help after a famous movie director, filming in Toronto, is murdered in full view of fans as he arrives to attend a premiere, and his teenage daughter disappears immediately afterward. The search and the solving of the crime take Ellis from the glamorous film world into the violent nether worlds of the drug trade and the exploitation and trafficking in women.His search for the murder victim's missing daughter also takes him into the urban haunts of the homeless and to caves in the Don River Valley, the wilderness preserve that runs through the heart of Toronto and was the setting of Aubert's first Ellis Portal mystery, Free Reign. Ellis knew these surroundings well from the days, following his fall from respectability as judge, when he lived among the homeless himself for awhile.

About the author

Rosemary Aubert is the author of eleven novels, including the acclaimed Ellis Portal mystery series. Rough Wilderness is her third poetry collection and the second in her series of books of imaginary love poems told in the voices of famous women. Born in Niagara Falls, New York, Rosemary has lived in Toronto for decades and works there as a teacher and literary consultant. Her poems have appeared in some of Canada’s most prestigious literary journals.

Rosemary Aubert's profile page

Other titles by Rosemary Aubert