Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction African

The Egyptian Mirror

by (author) Michael Bedard

Publisher
Pajama Press Inc.
Initial publish date
Feb 2021
Category
African, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Thrillers & Suspense, Paranormal
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781772781106
    Publish Date
    Feb 2021
    List Price
    $15.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781772782080
    Publish Date
    May 2021
    List Price
    $14.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7

Description

A darkly fantastic middle-grade mystery with the ominous atmosphere loved by fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan Stroud

Thirteen-year-old Simon’s life has been knocked askew ever since his family moved into his deceased grandfather’s house. First there’s his eccentric neighbor Mr. Hawkins, who is laid up with a broken leg. Simon’s mother begins sending him over there with dinner for the elderly man, and soon Mr. Hawkins is depending on Simon to fetch old books and manuscript pages from all over his eerie, mirror-filled house. There’s one mirror in particular, an ancient Egyptian piece, that keeps showing Simon visions of a disturbing figure emerging from its depths. No one else sees the figure, though—just like they don’t see the huge, gaunt dog lurking in Mr. Hawkins’ bushes. As Simon himself becomes increasingly plagued by a mysterious illness, he is powerless to help as his neighbor descends into paranoia about dark forces encircling his house.

The terrible part is, Mr. Hawkins is right. Everything is about to get much, much worse.

With an eerie atmosphere perfect for fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan Stroud, The Egyptian Mirror is a deliciously unsettling mystery from Michael Bedard, the author of The Green Man, A Darker Magic, and the Governor General’s Award-winning Redwork.

 

About the author

Michael Bedard is a multi-award-winning author of middle-grade and young-adult novels that blend his love of literature with a flair for the ominous. His novels include A Darker Magic, The Green Man, and Redwork, which won the Governor General’s Literary Award and the CLA Book of the Year Award for Children. Michael was born and raised in Toronto, where he still lives.

 

Michael Bedard's profile page

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Egyptian Mirror

“The place and setting are strongly developed as each clue quietly builds to a suspenseful climax, and the slow pace contributes to an old-fashioned feel....A quiet story for patient readers.”—Kirkus Reviews

“In his ominously spooky novel, The Egyptian Mirror, Michael Bedard deftly weaves readers into this mystery…”—The Globe & Mail

“Do you enjoy stories with a hint of dark magic, spells that threaten to trap you into a world of ancient sorcery? Then The Egyptian Mirror by acclaimed Toronto author Michael Bedard is the book for you.”—Winnipeg Free Press

"The Egyptian Mirror seems to fit a very niche audience - someone who enjoys learning new facts while reading fiction, and who likes plot development, a slow buildup, and a quick and concise wrap up."—CM Magazine

“Rating: 4…This is an engrossing read…A ‘vast malevolence’ from ancient Egyptian mythology will ensnare the imagination of readers who like mythological fantasy tie-ins.”—Youth Services Book Review

The Egyptian Mirror is a good mystery with a touch of the fantastic… Give this to your burgeoning mystery readers.”—Mom Read It

“[V]ery intriguing and sucked me right in…will appeal to readers who like classic fantasy mysteries with old English manor houses.”—Ms. Yingling Reads

 

Other titles by Michael Bedard