On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443434768_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2015
ISBN:9781443434768

The Devil You Know

A Novel

by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2015
ISBN:9781443434768
Description

In the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects and Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut novel about a rookie reporter whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger—and a stalker—right to her doorstep

The year is 1993. Rookie reporter Evie Jones is working the crime beat in a city terrified by a serial rapist and a growing number of missing and murdered young girls. As she covers this story, Evie is haunted by the unsolved murder eleven years earlier of her own best friend, Lianne Gagnon. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never apprehended, turning Lianne’s case cold.

Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie becomes driven to find out what really happened to Lianne. But every clue she uncovers seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie is convinced that the killer is still at large—and that he’s coming back for her . . .

Critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi delivers a spine-tingling story about secrets long buried and an obsession that cannot be controlled.

About the Author

Elisabeth de Mariaffi

ELISABETH DE MARIAFFI’s first book of short stories, How to Get Along with Women, was longlisted for the 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her poetry and short fiction have been widely published in magazines across Canada. Her debut novel, The Devil You Know, was named one of the Best Books of 2015 by The Globe and Mail and the National Post, and was shortlisted for the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award. Elisabeth lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland, with the poet George Murray and their combined brood of four children, making them CanLit’s version of the Brady Brunch.

Author profile page >
Awards
  • , Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award
Editorial Reviews

“A compelling study of the landscape of fear. . . . A skilled writer, de Mariaffi effectively evokes the lingering effects of trauma, the hyper-vigilance it spawns and the vulnerability that terror triggers.”

— Toronto Star

“[An] outstanding, unsettling debut novel.”

— National Post

“A brilliant debut novel.”

— The Globe and Mail

“The Devil You Know explores the tangled emotional and ideological roots of violence against women with subtlety and humour. More impressively, it does so while delivering the suspense and narrative pace of a good thriller.”

— Quill & Quire

“With so many thrillers cheaply exploiting violence against girls and women, de Mariaffi’s treatment of the topic, through Evie’s vulnerable yet empowered voice, is refreshingly reverent.”

— Kirkus Reviews

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

How to Get Along with Women

How to Get Along with Women

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...