Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Contemporary Women

The Bitter and Sweet of Cherry Season

A Novel

by (author) Molly Fader

Graydon House Books
Initial publish date
Jun 2020
Contemporary Women, Small Town & Rural, Family Life, Friendship
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 2020
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


“A stunning story about family and hope that unfolds unexpectedly but beautifully, like a Michigan summer sunset over an orchard.” —Viola Shipman, bestselling author of The Clover Girls and The Secret of Snow

In cherry season, anything is possible…

Everything Hope knows about the Orchard House is from the stories of her late mother. So when she arrives at the northern Michigan family estate late one night with a terrible secret and her ten-year-old daughter in tow, she’s not sure if she’ll be welcomed or turned away with a shotgun by the aunt she has never met.

Hope’s aunt, Peg, has lived in the Orchard House all her life, though the property has seen better days. She agrees to take Hope in if, in exchange, Hope helps with the cherry harvest—not exactly Hope’s specialty, but she’s out of options. As Hope works the orchard alongside her aunt, daughter and a kind man she finds increasingly difficult to ignore, a new life begins to blossom. But the mistakes of the past are never far behind, and soon the women will find themselves fighting harder than ever for their family roots and for each other.

*Don't miss The Sunshine Girls, Molly Fader’s next novel. On sale December 2022 and available to preorder now!

About the author

MOLLY FADER is the award-winning author of more than 40 romance novels under the pennames Molly O'Keefe and M. O'Keefe. She grew up outside of Chicago and now lives in Toronto. The McAvoy Sisters Book of Secrets is her first women's fiction novel.

Molly Fader's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“A stunning story about family and hope that unfolds unexpectedly but beautifully, like a Michigan summer sunset over an orchard.”
—VIOLA SHIPMAN, bestselling author of The Heirloom Garden and The Summer Cottage

“This page-turning story about family secrets and finding strength will have fans of Jill Shalvis and Jane Green delighted to have another author to watch.”


“Filled with my favorite things to read about—sisters, secrets, surprises, and genuine, heartfelt sentiment. The talented Molly Fader will keep you turning the pages right down to the oh-so-satisfying final twist.” —SUSAN WIGGS, New York Times bestselling author

“The perfect read for a summer day.” —JILL SHALVIS, New York Times bestselling author

“An emotional, tender, simply wonderful book. Once you start, you won't be able to put it down until you discover all the secrets within.” —RAEANNE THAYNE, New York Times bestselling author

“A delicious summer read populated with spirited characters, a charming lakeside setting, and just enough mystery to keep the pages turning. A warmhearted delight of a book!” —JAMIE BRENNER, bestselling author of The Forever Summer and Drawing Home

“Mesmerizing and soul-searching. A story that makes you believe in the power of family.” —CAROLYN BROWN, New York Times bestselling author

“Full of affection and wry wit, this is a surprising page-turner with a super-satisfying twist.” Woman's World

“Fans of Jennifer Weiner will be pleased to have a new author to discover.” —Booklist

“A riveting, emotional blend of family drama, mystery, and romance that you will not want to put down—but neither will you want it to end.” —JAMIE BECK, national bestselling author of Befire I Knew

Other titles by Molly Fader