On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735264274_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264274
publisher: Tundra

Solid, Liquid, Gassy (A Fairy Science Story)

by Ashley Spires

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
weather, humorous stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264274
publisher: Tundra
Description

Esther the fairy is back, to investigate the water cycle! From the award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing, for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn't believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther's best efforts to reveal the science of their world. This time around, though, she's got her fairy pals Clover and Fig, along with trusty sidekick Albert the bird, to help create a more science-oriented entry for their school's "Magic Fair" -- Pixieville's magical answer to a science fair, which has never gone well for Esther before. When the local pond disappears, Esther realizes this might be the perfect opportunity for a real experiment! It's up to Esther and her fairymates to ask questions, make hypotheses, do research and show their conclusions -- this time, all about the water cycle. But when everyone Esther knows believes that Jack Frost is responsible for ice and that moon sneezes cause evaporation, she'll have to learn that sometimes discovery is its own reward.

Solid, Liquid, Gassy (A Fairy Science Story) is the second book in Ashley Spires' hilarious picture book series about a charming, determined heroine who celebrates the joys of curiosity and wonder.

About the Author
Ashley Spires grew up in the Pacific Northwest, the supposed stomping grounds of Bigfoot. She is the author and illustrator of a number of books for children, including Small Saul and the Adventures of Binky the Space Cat. She was the recipient of the 2011 Silver Birch Express Award and the 2011 Hackmatack Award for Binky the Space Cat and was shortlisted for a Joe Shuster Comics for Kids Award and an Eisner Award for Binky Under Pressure. Ashley currently lives in British Columbia.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Author and illustrator ASHLEY SPIRES grew up in Tsawwassen, B.C., and after stints living in Toronto and Saskatoon, she now lives in Ladner, having made an educated decision to never move from B.C. again. She is the creator of the Binky The Space Cat series of junior graphic novels, soon to be an animated television series, and the bestselling The Most Magnificent Thing, now an animated short film. When not drawing, she is often jogging with her dog Gordon or cuddling her growing brood of cats.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
3 to 7
Grade:
p to 2
Editorial Review

"With drollery and humor, Spires introduces scientific terms and theory. Included in the back of the book is an experiment about the water cycle that uses everyday household items, creating an interactive experience beyond the book." -Kirkus Reviews

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...