Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Westerns

Second Chance

A Fortune Saga

by (author) Mona Knight

Boularderie Island Press
Initial publish date
Sep 2020
  • Book

    Publish Date
    Sep 2020
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Second Chance is the next adventure in The Fortune Saga series and picks up where Banjo Flats left off. Fortune returns home to Banjo Flats, in the Dakota Territory, where she earned her reputation as a ‘shoot first, ask questions later’ kind of gunfighter. She agrees to accompany the federal marshal to Deadwood to bring back a notorious outlaw, and life gets complicated when she rescues a pair of young orphaned brothers along the road. While in Deadwood she picks up the trail of a lost gold shipment and is forced to confront a dark memory from her past and settle a long-standing score with the cold-blooded Mose Horn.

About the author

Mona Knight was raised on a sunny sheep farm in central Ontario where she developed a passion for western paperbacks and movies. She spent many years as a correspondent with a third-world sponsorship agency. In retirement she became a valued contributor for a Cape Breton newspaper, The Victoria Standard, attracting a devoted group of readers of her bi-weekly articles. She has published several short fiction stories. One of her works was a finalist in the Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia's annual writing competition and became the opening chapter of Banjo Flats.

Mona Knight's profile page