On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771513098_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.00
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2019
ISBN:9781771513098
publisher: TouchWood Editions

Return to Spinner's Inlet

Stories

by Don Hunter

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.00
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2019
ISBN:9781771513098
publisher: TouchWood Editions
Description

A collection of connected short stories set in a fictional town in BC’s Gulf Islands where attitude is everything, and everybody has one.

For years “Spinner's Inlet” was a beloved serialized newspaper column created by Don Hunter that ran in the Province, Vancouver’s newspaper. Eventually, Hunter compiled the columns and turned them into Spinner's Inlet, the bestselling book published in 1989. Now, thirty years later, Hunter is revisiting the quirky inhabitants of this fictional coastal community, who are ready to entertain a brand-new generation of readers.

Although the cast of characters has evolved, Samson and Rachel Spinner are still around, suitably older and possibly a little wiser, as are some of the more familiar faces from this fictional village in BC's Gulf Islands, where attitude is everything and everybody has one.

A humorous read that’s perfect for fans of Jack Hodgins, Bill Gaston, and Pat Carney, Return to Spinner's Inlet will have you chuckling with recognition.

About the Author

Don Hunter grew up in Cumbria, England, attended Workington Grammar School, and served two years with 23 Parachute Field Ambulance before completing teacher training at Chester. He taught for two years before he and his wife June emigrated to B.C. in 1961. After eight years teaching in B.C. and gaining a B.Ed. at UBC, he switched to journalism and spent almost 30 years with The Province newspaper as reporter, editor and finally senior columnist. He had earlier worked also as a farm labourer, strawberry picker, mail deliverer, taxi driver, longshoreman, construction worker, and screenwriter.

The Hunters built a home on Galiano Island, becoming part-time members of a community whose occupants inspired many of the tales from Spinner’s Inlet. Don and his wife live in Fort Langley. They have two daughters and three grandchildren.

Author profile page >

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Don Hunter

Spinner’s Inlet

Spinner’s Inlet

edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...