Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories

Reports from the Deep End

Stories inspired by J. G. Ballard

edited by Maxim Jakubowski

by (author) Rick McGrath, Will Self, Iain Sinclair, Michael Moorcock, Christopher Fowler, Chris Beckett, Lavie Tidhar, Ramsey Campbell, Barry Malzberg, Adrian Cole, Jeff Noon, James Lovegrove, Toby Litt & Rhys Hughes

Initial publish date
Mar 2024
Short Stories, Dystopian, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Mar 2024
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2024
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


A fascinating and unsettling anthology of 32 science fiction short stories in tribute to the prophetic dystopias of New Wave sci-fi pioneer, and literary titan of the twentieth century, J. G. Ballard—featuring Will Self, Iain Sinclair, Christopher Fowler, Chris Beckett, and a new Jerry Cornelius story from Michael Moorcock.

Few authors are so iconic that their name is an adjective – Ballard is one of them.

Master of both literary and science fiction, his novels such as Empire of the Sun, Crash and Cocaine Nights show a world out of joint – a bewildering, alienating and yet enthralling place. From his rapturously weird takes on contemporary reality to his classic dystopias like The Drowned World and High Rise, Ballard’s legacy shaped the future of literature.

This first-of-its-kind anthology, featuring our greatest literary and science fiction authors, pays tribute to the unique visions of humanity’s uncanny and uneasy clash with the future – our empires of concrete – seen through the warped lens of J. G. Ballard.

Edited by renowned editors Maxim Jakubowski and Rick McGrath, this collection includes stories by:

  • Will Self
  • Iain Sinclair
  • Christopher Fowler
  • Chris Beckett
  • Michael Moorcock
  • Jeff Noon
  • Preston Grassmann
  • Toby Litt
  • Christine Poulson
  • David Gordon
  • Hanna Jameson
  • James Lovegrove
  • Ramsey Campbell
  • Barry N. Malzberg
  • Paul Di Filippo
  • Samathan Lee Howe
  • Nick Mamatas
  • Adrian McKinty
  • Rhys Hughes
  • Adrian Cole
  • Pat Cadigan
  • Adam Roberts
  • George Sandison
  • Geoff Nicholson
  • A.K. Benedict
  • Andrew Hook
  • David Quantick
  • Lavie Tidhar
  • James Grady

About the authors

Maxim Jakubowski's profile page

Rick McGrath's profile page

William Woodard Self is an English author, journalist, political commentator and television personality. He has written eleven novels, five collections of shorter fiction, three novellas, and five collections of non-fiction writing.

Will Self's profile page

Iain Sinclair's profile page

Michael Moorcock's profile page

Christopher Fowler's profile page

Chris Beckett's profile page

Lavie Tidhar is an Israeli-born writer, working across multiple genres. He has lived in the United Kingdom and South Africa for long periods of time, as well as Laos and Vanuatu. As of 2013, Tidhar lives in London.

Lavie Tidhar's profile page

Ramsey Campbell's profile page

Barry Malzberg's profile page

Adrian Cole's profile page

Jeff Noon's profile page

James Lovegrove's profile page

Toby Litt's profile page

Rhys Hughes' profile page

Other titles by

Other titles by

Other titles by

Other titles by

Other titles by