On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781927366905_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781927366905
publisher: TouchWood Editions

Orphans of Empire

A Novel

by Grant Buday

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
historical
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781927366905
publisher: TouchWood Editions
Description

"Meticulously researched and vividly drawn, Orphans of Empire brings to life the half-forgotten world of early British Columbia. This is an immersive, shimmering novel." —Steven Price, author of #1 nationally bestselling By Gaslight and Giller-shortlisted Lampedusa

In Grant Buday's new novel, three captivating stories intertwine at the site of the New Brighton Hotel on the shores of Burrard Inlet. In 1858 the serious and devoted Sir Richard Clement Moody receives the commission of a lifetime when he is sent to help establish "a second England"—what is now British Columbia. In 1865 Frisadie, an eighteen-year-old Kanaka housemaid, who is more entrepreneur than ingénue, arrives in New Brighton from Hawaii. She convinces Maxie Michaud to purchase the hotel with her, and it soon becomes the toast of the inlet. In 1885 Henry Fannin, a young, curious embalmer and magnetism devotee, having struck out in London and San Francisco, arrives in New Brighton and promptly falls in love with a tragic woman he hears crying on his first night at the hotel.

Endearing, funny, and highly evocative of time and place, Orphans of Empire celebrates those living in the shadow of history's supposed heroes, their private struggles and personal agendas. Readers who loved Michael Crummey's Galore and Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, will love this vivid novel of arrivals that prods at the ethics of settlement.

About the Author

Grant Buday is the author of the novels Dragonflies, White Lung, Sack of Teeth, Rootbound, The Delusionist, and Atomic Road, the memoir Stranger on a Strange Island, and the travel memoir Golden Goa. His novels have twice been nominated for the City of Vancouver book prize. His articles and essays have been published in Canadian magazines, and his short fiction has appeared in The Journey Prize Anthology and Best Canadian Short Stories. He lives on Mayne Island, British Columbia.

Author profile page >

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Orphans of Empire”

Other Titles by Grant Buday

Under Glass

edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info

Venetian

edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...