Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Humor Cultural, Ethnic & Regional

Low Road Forever

Essays

by (author) Tara Thorne

Publisher
Nimbus Publishing
Initial publish date
Oct 2022
Category
Cultural, Ethnic & Regional
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781774711194
    Publish Date
    Oct 2022
    List Price
    $22.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

A book of snarky, feminist essays covering #MeToo, pop culture, and LGBTQ+ topics, from longtime arts-and-culture columnist, for fans of Lindy West, Anne T. Donahue, and Sara Irby.

A self-proclaimed "gay feminist harpy since before it was cool," Tara Thorne is situated somewhere between the sharp-eyed urban commentary of Nora Ephron and ribald cultural analysis of Lindy West. In her debut book of essays, the Halifax-based filmmaker, arts critic, and recovering journalist gives readers her unvarnished take on the films and music that made her a feminist, how the #MeToo reckoning led her to write a misandrist vigilante film, what it's like being the only woman in a band, and the snarky tweet that made her lose her position as CBC Radio's arts and culture columnist. Alongside are musings on coming out later in life, remaining resolutely child-free, and why she's decided to step back from being professional to the point of erasure: after two decades, it's time to take the low road.

With the cranky forthrightness of Fran Lebowitz in ,Pretend It's a City, Thorne's voice is both self-assured and deeply self-effacing as she exposes the light haze of misogyny that hangs over us all to find what's funny, what's true, and what needs to be said.

About the author

Tara Thorne has been an arts advocate and journalist in Halifax since 2000. She leads the rock band Dance Movie, hosts The Tideline podcast, and coordinates the Halifax Independent Filmmakers Festival. Her feature debut as writer and director, Compulsus, is currently on the film festival circuit.

Tara Thorne's profile page