Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Reference Bibliographies & Indexes

Les Prix littéraires du Gouverneur général du Canada

Une bibliographie

by (author) Andrew David Irvine

Les Presses de l'Université d'Ottawa/University of Ottawa Press
Initial publish date
Nov 2018
Bibliographies & Indexes
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2018
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The definitive bibliography of Canada’s Governor General’s Literary Awards
Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Atwood, Antonine Maillet, Carol Shields, Marie-Claire Blais, Gilles Vigneault…
For over three quarters of a century, the Governor General’s Literary Awards have been instrumental in recognizing many of Canada’s best authors, illustrators and translators. The result is impressive: between 1936 and 2017, 705 titles have been recognized with this prestigious award.
With careful attention to detail, Andrew Irvine presents the history and evolution of the Awards and extols their importance for the careers of authors, illustrators and translators, as well as for the development of Canada’s national literature.
The heart of the book contains the first comprehensive bibliography of the awards, including the first list of winning books organized according to their historically correct award categories; information about five books wrongly omitted from previous lists of winning titles; detailed information about award ceremonies, film adaptations and jury members; and other key information.
This is a seminal work that belongs on the shelf of every scholar and every lover of Canadian literature.
Published in French.

About the author

Andrew David Irvine est professeur de philosophie et de mathématiques à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique (UBC), dont il a été vice-président du bureau des gouverneurs. Il a également été directeur du secteur Économie, Philosophie et Science politique à UBC Okanagan, ainsi que président de la British Columbia Civil Liberties Association.

Andrew David Irvine's profile page

Other titles by Andrew David Irvine