Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Biography & Autobiography Personal Memoirs

Kiss the Red Stairs

The Holocaust, Once Removed

by (author) Marsha Lederman

Publisher
McClelland & Stewart
Initial publish date
May 2022
Category
Personal Memoirs, Jewish Studies, Holocaust
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780771049378
    Publish Date
    May 2022
    List Price
    $35.00

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
For readers of All Things Consoled by Elizabeth Hay and They Left Us Everything by Plum Johnson, Kiss the Red Stairs is a compelling memoir by award-winning journalist Marsha Lederman delves into her parents’ Holocaust stories in the wake of her own divorce, investigating how trauma migrates through generations with empathy, humour, and resilience.

Marsha was five when a simple question led to a horrifying answer. Sitting in her kitchen, she asked her mother why she didn’t have any grandparents. Her mother told her the truth: the Holocaust.
Decades later, her parents dead and herself a mother to a young son, Marsha begins to wonder how much history has shaped her own life. Reeling in the wake of a divorce, she craves her parents’ help. But in their absence, she is gripped by a need to understand the trauma they suffered, and she begins her own journey into the past to tell her family’s stories of loss and resilience.
Kiss the Red Stairs is a compelling memoir of Holocaust survival, intergenerational trauma, divorce, and discovery that will guide readers through several lifetimes of monumental change.
 

About the author

Marsha Lederman is the Western Arts Correspondent for The Globe and Mail. Before joining The Globe in 2007, Marsha worked for CBC Radio, mostly in Toronto, where she held a variety of positions, including National Arts Reporter. Prior to that, Marsha worked for many years in private radio as a reporter, news anchor and talk show host. Marsha was born and raised in Toronto and has lived in Vancouver since 2007.

Marsha Lederman's profile page

Other titles by Marsha Lederman