On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735267022_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jun 2020
ISBN:9780735267022
imprint: Penguin Teen

Hunted by the Sky

by Tanaz Bhathena

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
epic, class differences, girls & women
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jun 2020
ISBN:9780735267022
imprint: Penguin Teen
Description

A riveting story of discovery, forbidden romance and idealism against all odds, set in a fantasy world inspired in part by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi.

Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for years. Gul’s mark is what caused her parents’ murder at the hand of King Lohar’s ruthless soldiers and forced her into hiding to protect her own life. So when a group of rebel women called the Sisters of the Golden Lotus rescue her, take her in, and train her in warrior magic, Gul wants only one thing: revenge.
Cavas lives in the tenements, and he’s just about ready to sign his life over to the king’s army. His father is terminally ill, and Cavas will do anything to save him. But sparks fly when he meets a mysterious girl—Gul—in the capital’s bazaar, and as the chemistry between them undeniably grows, he becomes entangled in a mission of vengeance—and discovers a magic he never expected to find.
Dangerous circumstances have brought Gul and Cavas together at the king’s domain in Ambar Fort . . . a world with secrets deadlier than their own. Exploring identity, class struggles, and high-stakes romance, Hunted by the Sky is a gripping adventure set in a world inspired by medieval India.

Contributor Notes

TANAZ BHATHENA is the author of the critically acclaimed novel, A Girl Like That, which received two starred reviews. Shortlisted for the Ontario Library Association White Pine Award, it was also a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book, a Quill & Quire Book of the Year, a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book for Teens and a New York Public Library Notable Best Book for Teens. Her second novel is The Beauty of the Moment. Tanaz lives in Mississauga, Ontario, with her family. Visit her at tanazbhathena.com or follow her on Instagram: @bhathenatanaz.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
12 to 100
Grade:
7 to 17
Editorial Review

“A thoughtfully conceived mythology . . . escalating action catapults the tale to a thrilling close.” --Publishers Weekly

“A mythical tale of love, sisterhood, vengeance and hope, Hunted by the Sky is an epic adventure you don't want to miss.” --Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand
“With Hunted by the Sky, Tanaz Bhathena pens a story that is as fierce as it is tender. Her girls are beautifully complicated. Her world is lush, intricate, and unique. This book not only left me breathless, it made my heart soar.” --Kristen Ciccarelli, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara

Hunted by the Sky plunges readers into an original and imaginative world that is both beautifully brutal and brutally beautiful. Tanaz Bhathena’s writing crackles with visceral detail and pointed metaphor, creating an immersive reading experience. Readers are certain to fall for Gul and Cavas as they find their own value in a world that tries hard to devalue them. A fresh and intelligent fantasy.” --Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade 

“As deeply enthralling as a dream, the world of Ambar lures you in with its rich mythology and fiercely tender romance. A story exquisitely told, with magic on every page.”
--Ausma Zehanat Khan, author of The Bloodprint
Hunted by the Sky offers YA fantasy readers something deliciously fresh, while giving us everything we love: a richly-imagined landscape, fascinating magic, and a tenacious young heroine pitted against impossible odds." --Elly Blake, NYT bestselling author of the Frostblood saga
"A thrilling start to an exciting new series set in a fresh, magical new world... I couldn't put it down!" --S. A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass and The Kingdom of Copper
“Captivating... Steeped in medieval Indian magic, Hunted by the Sky is a breathtaking adventure of a book that draws you in from page one.” – Sukanya Venkatraghavan, editor of Magical Women and author of Dark Things

“Filled with magic, prophecy, and ancient goddesses, Hunted by the Sky is an engrossing novel that will keep the reader up long past bedtime. Tanaz Bhathena's fantasy is perfect for fans of thoughtful worldbuilding and fantastical mirrors to our own reality. A whirlwind of heartfelt storytelling.” —Jodi Meadows, NYT bestselling author of My Plain Jane and the Fallen Isles Trilogy

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...