Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction General

High Water Mark

Stories from Atlantic Canada 1983-2023

edited by Lesley Choyce

Pottersfield Press
Initial publish date
May 2023
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 2023
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Mar 2023
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


High Water Mark is an anthology of short fiction from some of the finest writers of Atlantic Canada over the last forty years. Included are writers from various communities throughout the region and stories that reflect a wide range of writing talent from older and younger writers.
Twenty authors have contributed work to this long-awaited collection representative of the literature of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Among the contributors are Sheldon Currie, Harold Horwood, Maxine Tynes, Patrick O?Flaherty, J.J. Steinfeld, Budge Wilson, Carol Bruneau, Guyleigh Johnson and Chris Benjamin among others.
Fiction means many things to many people. As Life of Pi author, Yann Martel, noted, "Fiction is the selective transforming of reality. The twisting of it to bring out the essence." Tim O'Brien, author of The Things They Carried, echoed this when he wrote, "That's what fiction is for. It's for getting at the truth when the truth isn't sufficient for the truth." Atlantic Canadian writers know instinctively that "truth" is not always what it seems and that it varies widely among cultural groups. Here, in heartfelt and often raw prose, a wealth of gifted authors from different backgrounds investigate their truths through a fictional lens, often pushing the boundaries of the genre to uncover and hold up to the light what is real and what is true. High Water Mark is a compendium of stories that indeed attempts to get at the essence of life in the Canadian Far East in all its rich diversity while exploring some of the hidden "truths" that are not always obvious in our day-to-day lives.

About the author

No one has a clearer view of Atlantic Canada's literary endeavours over the past twenty years than Lesley Choyce. He is the founder of the literary journal Pottersfield Portfolio, and the publisher of Pottersfield Press. He has edited several fiction anthologies and has been the in-house editor of many books from Pottersfield Press including Making Waves, a collection of stories by emerging authors from Atlantic Canada. He is the author of more than fifty books in genres ranging from poetry and essays to autobiography, history and fiction for adults, young adults, and children. Among his recent books are the novels The Republic of Nothing, World Enough, and Cold Clear Morning, and the story collection Dance the Rocks Ashore. Choyce is the writer, host, and co-producer of the popular literary show television program, Off the Page with Lesley Choyce, which is broadcast across the country on Vision TV. He also teaches in the English department of Dalhousie University in Halifax and is leader of the rock band The Surf Poets.

Lesley Choyce's profile page

Other titles by Lesley Choyce