Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Travel Polar Regions

High Latitudes

by (author) Farley Mowat

introduction by Margaret Atwood

Key Porter Books
Initial publish date
Sep 2002
Polar Regions, General
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Sep 2002
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Ten years after the travels documented in Walking on the Land, Farley Mowat returned to the Canadian Arctic for the most extensive northern trip of his life. Traversing the Arctic, tape recorder in hand, he talked with anyone and everyone willing to tackle his formidable wit and passion in a discussion about the change being thrust upon the north and its people. In High Latitudes: A Journey, Mowat chronicles this trip, creating a marvelous memoir that marries his own experiences with those of the people he meets. Eccentrics, loners and do-gooders, re-settled and traditional Inuit, politicians and priests, Company men and freetraders-they are all here, adding their voices to Mowat's. Old-time traders reminisce over bannock and tea. Young Inuit argue for political change in a stuffy room. Would-be architects of the New North tout economic expansion. Fiercely independent northerners try to strike a balance between the old ways and the new. Mowat skillfully weaves these diverse stories of this land he loves with his own story, entertaining us, enlightening us, and daring us to care in the process. As the north faces another era of seismic change, High Latitudes gifts us with voices out of time-voices filled with wisdom and humour and passion. They are signposts for us, if we are ready. Farley Mowat was born in Ontario in 1921, and grew up in Belleville, Trenton, Windsor, Saskatoon, and Toronto. After spending most of two years in the Arctic, following his war service, Mowat began writing for a living in 1949, and has published over 30 books during his distinguished career. He is the author of thirty-eight books, including for Key Porter My Father's Son, Born Naked, The Farfarers, Aftermath and Walking on the Land. Other notable titles include People of the Deer, The Dog Who Wouldn't Be, Never Cry Wolf, A Whale for the Killing and Sea of Slaughter. Combined, they have sold more than 14 million copies in 24 languages throughout the world. Farley Mowat and his wife, writer Claire Mowat, divide their time between Ontario and Nova Scotia.

About the authors

Farley Mowat was born in Belleville, Ontario, in 1921. He began writing upon his return from serving in World War II, and has since written 44 books. He spent much of his youth in Saskatoon, and has lived in Ontario, Cape Breton and Newfoundland, while travelling frequently to Canada's far north. Throughout, Mowat has remained a determined environmentalist, despairing at the ceaseless work of human cruelty. Yet his ability to capture the tragic comedy of human life on earth has made him a national treasure in Canada, and a beloved storyteller to readers around the world. His internationally celebrated books include People of the Deer, The Dog Who Wouldn't Be, Sea of Slaughter, and The Boat Who Wouldn't Float.

Farley Mowat's profile page

Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa and grew up in northern Ontario, Quebec, and Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree from Radcliffe College.
Throughout her writing career, Margaret Atwood has received numerous awards and honourary degrees. She is the author of more than fifty volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction, and non-fiction and is perhaps best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1970), The Handmaid's Tale (1983), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. Atwood's dystopic novel, Oryx and Crake, was published in 2003. The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short stories) both appeared in 2006. Her most recent volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth, part of the Massey Lecture series, appeared in 2008, and her most recent novel, The Year of the Flood, in the autumn of 2009. Ms. Atwood's work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian. In 2004 she co-invented the Long Pen TM.
Margaret Atwood currently lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson. 

Margaret Atwood's profile page

Other titles by Farley Mowat

Other titles by Margaret Atwood