On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735280762_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Jul 2021
ISBN:9780735280762
publisher: Knopf Canada

Her Turn

by Katherine Ashenburg

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
contemporary women, literary, marriage & divorce
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Jul 2021
ISBN:9780735280762
publisher: Knopf Canada
Description

One of The Globe and Mail’s “Summer 2021 books preview: 40 hot reads that will captivate you”
 
One of Maclean’s’ “20 books you should read this summer”
 
For fans of Nora Ephron and Jennifer Weiner, here is Katherine Ashenburg's witty, contemporary new novel about a forty-something newspaper columnist navigating her bold next chapter, set in Washington against the 2015 US presidential primary.

In the autumn of 2015, forty-something journalist Liz is working at a national newspaper in Washington, D.C., where Hillary Clinton’s run for the presidency is the talk of the town. The divorced parent of a college-age son, she appears to lead a full, happy life: devoted friends, a job she adores, a breezy dating life. But deep inside, Liz is stalled in neutral, stuck in a clandestine affair with her boss and still brooding on her marriage, which ended in betrayal, hurt and anger ten years ago.
 
 Liz’s job is to edit “My Turn,” a column of personal essays from readers. Her tidy life is upended when a submission about a marital squabble arrives from Nicole, the woman who had an affair with Liz’s husband and is now his wife. Wife Two has no idea that she is sending an essay to Wife One, and Liz keeps this secret as she engages in an increasingly personal critique of the piece. But the existence of the essay destabilizes Liz, and she starts acting erratically—publishing provocative essays that infuriate her colleagues, investing in a pile of unread self-help books about “forgiveness” and indulging in questionable romantic decisions. Soon she is caught in a tangled web of her own making, with no easy escape.
 
 A smart, wise and witty novel with moving depths beneath its delightful surface.

About the Author
Katherine Ashenburg writes for a wide variety of publications, including The New York Times, The Walrus and Toronto Life. She is the author of three non-fiction books for adults, All the Dirt on Getting Clean is her first book for young readers.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

KATHERINE ASHENBURG is the author of several books and many magazine and newspaper articles. She has written for The New York Times, The Globe and Mail and Toronto Life, among other publications. Her books include The Mourner's Dance: What We Do When People Die, and The Dirt on Clean: An Unsanitized History, which was published in twelve countries and six languages. In former incarnations, she was a producer at CBC Radio and was The Globe and Mail's Arts and Books editor. In 2012, she won a Gold Medal at the National Magazine Awards for her article on old age. In 2018, she publisher her debut novel, Sofie and Cecilia.

Editorial Review

PRAISE FOR HER TURN

“[A] Nora Ephron-esque comedy of social manners.” —The Globe and Mail

"What a gem this novel is. Hilarious, wise, and humane, Her Turn follows one woman’s twisting path through a maze of love and betrayal and forgiveness. It is infused with the joyful spirit of Nora Ephron and lit with a charm all its own.”—Elizabeth Renzetti, author of Based on a True Story

"Ashenburg’s gratifying latest follows a journalist who starts a dubious friendship with her ex-husband’s wife. . . . With its fruitful examination of betrayal and forgiveness, Ashenburg’s engrossing [novel] should appeal to fans of Nora Ephron.” —Publishers Weekly
One of The Globe and Mail’s “Summer 2021 books preview: 40 hot reads that will captivate you”
 
One of Maclean’s’ “20 books you should read this summer”
 
“This portrait of a contemporary woman (set firmly in 2015) is a striking analysis of journalism, adultery, divorce, parenting teenagers, and caring for elderly parents; perfect for fans of Emma Straub.” —Booklist
“Ashenburg writes candidly about a complex character. . . . Liz is never shamed for wanting love, sex, or companionship, although she often goes about it the wrong way. None of the characters are written off as easy 'bad guys,' not even Liz’s ex-husband or his new wife. . . . A look at betrayal and forgiveness that nicely balances humor and depth.” —Kirkus Reviews
PRAISE FOR SOFIE AND CECILIA
"What a marvellous, fascinating, beautifully written book. I could hardly bear to reach the end!” —Mary Lawson, bestselling author of Crow Lake and A Town Called Solace

Sofie and Cecilia is magnificent. The characters are so tenderly and deeply explored, I couldn’t put it down. . . . A joyful experience. . . . One of the best things I’ve read in years.” —Sarah Polley, actress and director
 
“Closely and beautifully observed. . . . As readers, we experience both the affirmation of women’s friendships, and the challenge of devoting oneself to a life of artistic creation.” —Jane Urquhart, author of The Underpainter and The Stone Carvers

“Katherine Ashenburg slips her needle delicately beneath the skin to reveal the anatomy of an artist. This is the best kind of writing about art that is an art itself. So many pleasures here for the reader: delights of dress and décor and food and furnishings, all of the made things that make life better. Through the graceful procession of the years, strong strands of friendship tie these women together: their love of art, and books, and intelligent observation of the tangled knot of marriage.” —Marina Endicott, author of Good to a Fault

“Against the luscious backdrop of the early twentieth-century Swedish art world, Sofie & Cecilia offers a fascinating, intimate look at the many variations of female love: maternal love, marital love, love of industry and craft, love of beauty. Most of all it is a celebration of the love that can exist between women friends. An intelligent, tender, highly pleasurable novel.” —Barbara Gowdy, author of Little Sister and The Romantic

“Noted non-fiction writer Katherine Ashenburg’s debut novel is a thoughtful contribution to the now-familiar genre of fiction about women overshadowed by their proximity to masculine greatness. . . . [Sophie & Cecilia] is elegantly constructed. . . . The close third-person narration is rich in meticulous and often fascinating detail about Swedish life and art.” —Rohan Maitzen, Quill and Quire

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Katherine Ashenburg

The Dirt on Clean

The Dirt on Clean

An Unsanitized History
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
tagged :
More Info
All the Dirt

All the Dirt

A History of Getting Clean
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...