Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction General

Fairy Science

by (author) Ashley Spires

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
Sep 2019
Category
General, Science & Technology, Humorous Stories
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780735264250
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $21.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2

Description

The award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing introduces the value of science and inquiry to young readers with humor and heart. For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn't believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther's best efforts to reveal the science of their world. No matter how she and her bird, Albert, explain that rainbows are refracted light rather than a path to gold, or that mist is water evaporating rather than an evil omen, or the importance of the scientific method, her fairymates would rather just do magic. So when the other fairies' solution to helping a dying tree is to do a mystical moonlight dance, Esther decides to take it upon herself to resuscitate the tree . . . with the scientific method, some hypothesizing, a few experiments and the heady conclusion that trees need sunlight to live! But while Esther manages to save the tree, she can't quite change the minds of her misguided fairymates . . . or can she?

Fairy Science, the first in a hilarious new picture book series, introduces a charming, determined heroine as she learns about the world and celebrates the joys of curiosity and exploring science.

About the author

 

Ashley Spires est diplômé de l'Emily Carr Institute of Art & Design. Artiste touche à tout, elle a créé des sites Internet, des livres et des marionnettes. Elle est auteure et illustratrice de plusieurs livres dont Quel génie!, la série Basile le chat de l'espace,Petit Paul, Chien recherche garçon et André est débordé. Ashley a également illustré Le Labo des malins par Shar Levine et Leslie Johnstone. Elle vit à Delta, en Colombie-Britannique.

 

Ashley Spires earned her BFA at the Emily Carr Institute of Art and went on to earn a graduate diploma in illustration from Sheridan College. She is also the illustrator of Binky the Space Cat. Ashley lives in British Columbia, but you can find her at www.ashleyspires.com.

Ashley Spires' profile page

Awards

  • Short-listed, Chocolate Lily Award
  • Short-listed, Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction
  • Short-listed, Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

Editorial Reviews

A Canadian Children's Book Centre Best Books for Kids and Teens (starred selection)
"Readers will adore smart and scrappy Esther’s indomitable spirit and the silly yet effective juxtaposition of fairy tale and scientific inquiry.” —Booklist

"A magical addition to the STEM shelf." —Kirkus Reviews
"Fairy Science is a very exciting, enticing, informative and imaginative book to introduce to young earthlings about the core concept of reason and logic: mixing magic and science with little sparkle!"Resource Links

Other titles by Ashley Spires

Related lists

Related blog posts