On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735264250_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9780735264250
publisher: Tundra

Fairy Science

by Ashley Spires

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
science & technology, humorous stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9780735264250
publisher: Tundra
Description

The award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing introduces the value of science and inquiry to young readers with humor and heart. For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn't believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther's best efforts to reveal the science of their world. No matter how she and her bird, Albert, explain that rainbows are refracted light rather than a path to gold, or that mist is water evaporating rather than an evil omen, or the importance of the scientific method, her fairymates would rather just do magic. So when the other fairies' solution to helping a dying tree is to do a mystical moonlight dance, Esther decides to take it upon herself to resuscitate the tree . . . with the scientific method, some hypothesizing, a few experiments and the heady conclusion that trees need sunlight to live! But while Esther manages to save the tree, she can't quite change the minds of her misguided fairymates . . . or can she?

Fairy Science, the first in a hilarious new picture book series, introduces a charming, determined heroine as she learns about the world and celebrates the joys of curiosity and exploring science.

About the Author
Ashley Spires grew up in the Pacific Northwest, the supposed stomping grounds of Bigfoot. She is the author and illustrator of a number of books for children, including Small Saul and the Adventures of Binky the Space Cat. She was the recipient of the 2011 Silver Birch Express Award and the 2011 Hackmatack Award for Binky the Space Cat and was shortlisted for a Joe Shuster Comics for Kids Award and an Eisner Award for Binky Under Pressure. Ashley currently lives in British Columbia.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Author and illustrator ASHLEY SPIRES grew up in Tsawwassen, BC and after stints living in Toronto and Saskatoon, she now lives in Ladner, having made an educated decision to never move from B.C. again. She is the creator of the Binky The Space Cat series of junior graphic novels and the bestselling The Most Magnificent Thing, soon to be an animated short film. When not drawing, she is often jogging with her dog Gordon or cuddling her growing brood of cats.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
3 to 7
Grade:
p to 2
Editorial Review

“A magical addition to the STEM shelf.” --Kirkus Reviews
Fairy Science is a very exciting, enticing, informative and imaginative book to introduce to young earthlings about the core concept of reason and logic: mixing magic and science with little sparkle!” --Resource Links

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Fairy Science”

Other Titles by Ashley Spires

Our Song

Our Song

The Story of "O Canada"
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
More Info
Binky: License to Scratch

Binky: License to Scratch

illustrated by Ashley Spires
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
tagged :
More Info
Binky the Space Cat

Binky the Space Cat

illustrated by Ashley Spires
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
tagged :
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...