Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Fantasy & Magic

Dragons in a Box

Magical Creatures Collection

by (author) Zetta Elliott

illustrated by Geneva B & Cherise Harris

Random House Publishing Group
Initial publish date
Jun 2023
Fantasy & Magic, African American, Mythical
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 2023
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7


The dragon's out of the bag in this urban fantasy series, where a boy from Brooklyn is on a mission to help magical creatures! This magical boxed set includes books 1 to 3 of the critically acclaimed series by award-winning author Zetta Elliott.

There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don't let them out of the bag and don't feed them anything sweet!

When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she's not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they'll be safe. Read about Jax's first three adventures in this collection!

This boxed set includes:
#1 Dragons in a Bag: An epic fantasy in which Jax must deliver baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe.
#2 The Dragon Thief: Stealing a baby dragon was easy! Hiding it is a little more complicated.
#3 The Witch's Apprentice: The baby dragons were returned to the magical realm . . . but things don’t seem quite right!

About the authors

Born in Canada, Zetta Elliott moved to Brooklyn in 1994 to pursue her PhD in American Studies at NYU. Her poetry has been published in several anthologies, and her plays have been staged in New York, Chicago, and Cleveland. Her essays have appeared in Horn Book Magazine, School Library Journal, and The Huffington Post. Her first picture book, Bird, won the Honor Award in Lee & Low Books' New Voices Contest; it was named Best of 2008 by Kirkus Reviews, a 2009 ALA Notable Children's Book, and BIRD won the Paterson Prize for Books for Young Readers. Elliott's first young adult novel, A Wish After Midnight, has been called "gripping," "a revelation...vivid, violent and impressive history." Ship of Souls was published in February 2012; it was included in Booklist's Top Ten Sci-fi/Fantasy Titles for Youth and was a finalist for the 2013 Phillis Wheatley Award. Her latest novel, THE DEEP, was released in November 2013. She has published several illustrated books under her own imprint, Rosetta Press. She currently lives in Brooklyn.
Learn more at:

Zetta Elliott's profile page

Geneva B's profile page

Cherise Harris' profile page

Other titles by Zetta Elliott

Other titles by Geneva B

Other titles by Cherise Harris