Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Action & Adventure

Dona Quixote: Rise of the Knight

by (author) Rey Terciero

illustrated by Monica M. Magana

Publisher
Henry Holt and Co.
Initial publish date
Sep 2023
Category
Action & Adventure, Hispanic & Latino, Fairy Tales, Folklore, Legends & Mythology
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781250795472
    Publish Date
    Sep 2023
    List Price
    $30.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781250795526
    Publish Date
    Sep 2023
    List Price
    $19.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7

Description

Middle Schooler by Day. Monster Hunter by (K)night. In this action-packed and hilarious contemporary graphic novel retelling of Don Quixote, a young girl in Texas is obsessed with becoming a modern-day knight and thwarting supernatural evil—for fans of Mighty Jack, Zita the Spacegirl, and Amulet.
“Folklore, fun, and adventure at its best.” —Max Brallier, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Last Kids on Earth
Lucia Castillo dreams of being a hero like her grandfather. But to the people in their Texas town, he was just a strange old man who dressed up as a knight and claimed to save the world from monsters only he could see.
Now years later, when Lucia and her best friend—and trusty squire—Sandro discover the town mayor is secretly a shapeshifting beast of Mexican lore, her parents think she's imagining things like her "Abuelo Loco." Only Lucia, wearing her grandfather’s magical helmet, can see the hidden threat. Can she and Sandro prove others wrong and stop the mayor from unleashing evil on their town—and beyond?

About the authors

Contributor Notes

Rey Terciero, also known as Rex Ogle, has written and edited hundreds of books and comics for children and young adults. He is a Latinx writer who has always been drawn to classic stories, and enjoys retelling them for a contemporary audience. Born and raised (mostly) in Texas, Rey now lives in Los Angeles where he writes full-time—that is, when he’s not outdoors hiking with his dog Toby, playing MarioKart with friends, or reading.
Monica Magaña is an Illustrator from Los Angeles, California who has worked in advertisement, film, animation and TTRPGS. She enjoys drawing fantastical characters, whimsical stories and pushing for bold colors. With Doña Quixote being her first foray into publishing, she has found a new love in drawing comics. Monica now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband, Jon, drawing, drinking as much tea as possible, checking her Animal Crossing island, and playing D&D with friends.

Editorial Reviews

A BCCB Best Book of the Year!
"A new spin on an old tale, this graphic novel is folklore, fun, and adventure at its best. Lucia is a hero we can all relate to.” —Max Brallier, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Last Kids on Earth
"An exciting adventure of mythical proportions centering real-life concerns." —Kirkus Reviews
"A skillful balance between fantastical scares and madcap adventure." —Publishers Weekly
"[A] playful take on Cervantes' classic novel." —Booklist

Other titles by

Other titles by