Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Women Sleuths

Death on the Page

A Castle Bookshop Mystery

by (author) Essie Lang

Publisher
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Initial publish date
Mar 2020
Category
Women Sleuths, Amateur Sleuth, Cozy
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781643852942
    Publish Date
    Mar 2020
    List Price
    $35.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Essie Lang's second Castle Bookshop mystery is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Thousand Islands bookstore owner Shelby Cox sleuths the slaying of a true-crime writer who may have learned too much about a murder case that should have stayed shut.

There are a thousand stories in New York's scenic Thousand Islands, and Bayside Books co-owner Shelby Cox stocks them all. But lately, the Blye Island bookseller's life is more about investigation than inventory. True-crime writer Savannah Page caps off two successful signings at Bayside Books with a night in Blye Castle. She's there to research Joe Cabana, a colorful Prohibition-era mobster who owned the castle--until he was found dead in the island Grotto.
But crime becomes all too true for Savannah. Her body turns up the next morning, in a secret passage at the bottom of the stairs. The last thing Shelby Cox wants is to sleuth another murder, but she's intrigued about how a killer could have reached the island after hours. She's not at a lack for suspects either. It could have been anyone from Savannah's fiancé, Liam Kennelly, who argued with her the evening before, to island caretaker Matthew Kessler, recently cleared of his wife's murder. Can Shelby keep regular store hours, elude the police chief, and assemble the clues into a hard-bound case without getting permanently shelved?

About the author

Contributor Notes

National print publicity

ARCs and e-ARCs

Bookspan direct mail/e-mail campaign reaching 1.2 million readers

Giveaway: Crooked Lane, Author, Mystery Community sites, blogs, and social media

Featured title on MysteryGuild.com, MG Facebook, CrookedLaneBooks.com, and Crooked Lane's Casebook newsletter

Promotion on author's social media and newsletters

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Death on the Page:
"Charming characters and [a] beautiful Thousand Islands setting."
Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Lorna Barrett's Booktown mysteries or Eva Gates' Lighthouse Library novels will enjoy this sprightly second in a series."
Booklist
"Death on the Page provides the reader with a satisfactory story."
—New York Journal of Books
"The setting is unique and the author is very descriptive...[A] very good cozy mystery."
—MyShelf.com
 
"Another fun mystery novel featuring Shelby and the bookstore and the castle...Here's to more adventures with the cast of characters in the small town setting."
—Red Carpet Crash
“Lang's style of writing opens the reader's imagination and you can see everything so clearly...I highly recommend this book.”
Cozy Mystery Book Reviews
“Another exquisitely crafted murder mystery by an author with a genuine flair for the genre.”
Midwest Book Review
“Charming, funny, and clever with an addicting mystery that pulls you in right from the beginning.”
Manhattan Book Review

Other titles by Essie Lang