On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780771050558_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2016
ISBN:9780771050558

Dead Ground in Between

by Maureen Jennings

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
traditional british, war & military
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2016
ISBN:9780771050558
Description

From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-read for fans of Foyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.

It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.
     Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.
     Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters -- from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled -- Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a page-turning mystery and a rich, satisfying reading experience.

About the Author

Maureen Jennings is the author of the Murdoch Mysteries, a historical series set in Victorian Toronto. The first book, Except the Dying, won the Certificate of Commendation from Heritage Toronto. CHUM television has ordered the creation of an exciting new 13-episode series, The Murdoch Mysteries, based on these novels. The K Handshape is the second in Maureen's new series featuring Christine Morris. Maureen lives in Toronto with her husband and two dogs.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Born in England, MAUREEN JENNINGS emigrated to Canada as a teenager. The first Detective Murdoch mystery was published in 1997. Six more followed, all to enthusiastic reviews. In 2003, Shaftesbury Films adapted three of the novels into movies of the week, and four years later the Murdoch Mysteries TV series was created; it is now shown around the world, including in the UK, the United States (as The Artful Detective), and much of Europe, as well as on Canada's national broadcast network, CBC TV. The Detective Inspector Tom Tyler series, set in World War II-era England, got off to a spectacular start with 2011's Season of Darkness, followed by Beware This Boy (2012) and No Known Grave (2014). Maureen lives in Toronto with her husband and their two dogs, Varley and Murdoch. The author lives in Toronto, ON.

Editorial Review

Praise for Maureen Jennings's DI Tom Tyler series:
 • "Amazingly vivid and terribly real." -- New York Times Book Review
 • "Great historical detail. . . . Another winner for Jennings. Fans of the Foyle's War TV series should rejoice." -- The Globe and Mail
 • "It's among Jennings's gifts that all her people are painted in full colours [and] Tom Tyler is the most complete and human of them all. . . . Verges on classic war-fiction status." -- London Free Press
 • "Readers will be swept away." -- Library Journal (starred review)

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “Dead Ground in Between”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...