Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction General

Dark Skies

by (author) Danielle L. Jensen

Publisher
Tor/Forge
Initial publish date
May 2020
Category
General
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781250317766
    Publish Date
    May 2020
    List Price
    $26.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781250317773
    Publish Date
    Apr 2021
    List Price
    $16.5

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12

Description

Unwanted betrothals, assassination attempts, and a battle for the crown converge in Danielle L. Jensen'sDark Skies, a new series starter set in the universe of the YA fantasy Sarah J. Maas called "everything I look for in a fantasy novel."
Now aKirkus Best Book of 2020!
A RUNAWAY WITH A HIDDEN PAST
Lydia is a scholar, but books are her downfall when she meddles in the plots of the most powerful man in the Celendor Empire. Her life in danger, she flees west to the far side of the Endless Seas and finds herself entangled in a foreign war where her burgeoning powers are sought by both sides.
A COMMANDER IN DISGRACE
Killian is Marked by the God of War, but his gifts fail him when the realm under the dominion of the Corrupter invades Mudamora. Disgraced, he swears his sword to the kingdom’s only hope: the crown princess. But the choice sees him caught up in a web of political intrigue that will put his oath – and his heart – to the test.
A KINGDOM UNDER SIEGE
With Mudamora falling beneath the armies of the Corrupter, Lydia and Killian strike a bargain to save those they love most—but it is a bargain with unintended and disastrous consequences. Truths are revealed, birthrights claimed, and loyalties questioned—all while a menace deadlier and more far-reaching than they realize sweeps across the world.
Readers may read eitherDark Shores orDark Skies first!
Suggested series reading order:
1.Dark Skies orDark Shores
2.Dark Shores orDark Skies
3.Gilded Serpent(coming spring 2021)

About the author

Danielle was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. At the insistence of the left side of her brain, she graduated in 2003 from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance. But the right side of her brain has ever been mutinous; and in 2010, it sent her back to school to complete an entirely impractical English literature degree at Mount Royal University and to pursue publication. Much to her satisfaction, the right side shows no sign of relinquishing its domination.

Danielle L. Jensen's profile page

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Dark Shores
“Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down—I was hooked from the first lines!Dark Shoreshas everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word.”—Sarah J. Maas, #1New York Timesbestselling author
"The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series."—Kirkus Reviews (starred)
“This epic first installment in a new series from Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy) features stunning worldbuilding, a vivid cast of secondary characters, and a steamy slow-burn romance between two exceedingly competent and compelling heroes.Dark Shores is not one to miss.”—Booklist
"This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don’t, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski’s sighworthyThe Winner’s Kissand the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller’sDaughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
“Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller'sDaughter of the Pirate King, Alexandra Christo'sTo Kill a Kingdom, or Natalie C. Parker'sSeafire. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series. ” —School Library Journal

Other titles by Danielle L. Jensen