Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction General

Dark Shores

by (author) Danielle L. Jensen

Publisher
Tor/Forge
Initial publish date
May 2019
Category
General
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781250317728
    Publish Date
    May 2019
    List Price
    $25.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781250317735
    Publish Date
    May 2020
    List Price
    $14.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12

Description

"Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down — I was hooked from the first lines! Dark Shores has everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word." — Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Throne of Glass
The Celendor Empire has set its sights on conquering the far side of the world. And the secret to transporting its legions across the treacherous seas is held by seventeen-year-old Teriana.
Teriana has always been taught that east must never meet west, but when her closest friend is forced into an unwanted betrothal, she breaks the rule. A decision Teriana comes to regret when her crew are imprisoned and she lands face-to-face with the Empire’s most ruthless—and secretive—commander, Marcus. To save her people, Teriana chooses to guide Marcus and his legions into a world of meddlesome gods and magic. But with dark forces rising on both sides of the seas, the consequences of her alliance with the enemy may be greater than she imagined . . . especially for her heart.

About the author

Danielle was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. At the insistence of the left side of her brain, she graduated in 2003 from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance. But the right side of her brain has ever been mutinous; and in 2010, it sent her back to school to complete an entirely impractical English literature degree at Mount Royal University and to pursue publication. Much to her satisfaction, the right side shows no sign of relinquishing its domination.

Danielle L. Jensen's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down—I was hooked from the first lines! Dark Shores has everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word.”—Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author
"The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series."—Kirkus Reviews (starred)
"This epic first installment in a new series from Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy) features stunning worldbuilding, a vivid cast of secondary characters, and a steamy slow-burn romance between two exceedingly competent and compelling heroes. Dark Shores is not one to miss."—Booklist
"This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don’t, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski’s sighworthy The Winner’s Kiss and the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller’s Daughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The plot's twists and turns and fantastical elements add to the allure of this thrilling story. VERDICT Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King, Alexandra Christo's To Kill a Kingdom, or Natalie C. Parker's Seafire. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series."
School Library Journal

Other titles by Danielle L. Jensen