Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Biography & Autobiography Jewish

By Chance Alone

A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

by (author) Max Eisen

Publisher
Hanover Square Press
Initial publish date
Jan 2020
Category
Jewish, Survival, Jewish, Holocaust
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781443448550
    Publish Date
    Apr 2016
    List Price
    $11.99
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781443449281
    Publish Date
    Apr 2016
    List Price
    $32.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443448536
    Publish Date
    Apr 2016
    List Price
    $22.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443448543
    Publish Date
    May 2017
    List Price
    $21.00
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781335050144
    Publish Date
    Jan 2020
    List Price
    $16.99
  • CD-Audio

    ISBN
    9781799734222
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $36.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

An award-winning, internationally bestselling Holocaust memoir in the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz

In the spring of 1944, gendarmes forcibly removed Tibor “Max” Eisen and his family from their home, brought them to a brickyard and eventually loaded them onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and was inducted into the camp as a slave laborer.

More than seventy years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, By Chance Alone details Eisen’s story of survival: the backbreaking slave labor in Auschwitz I, the infamous death march in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation and Eisen’s journey of physical and psychological healing. Ultimately, the book offers a message of hope as the author finds his way to a new life.

About the author

MAX EISEN is a Hungarian Jew who was deported to Auschwitz in the spring of 1944. He is a passionate speaker and educator who volunteers at the Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre and the Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center in Toronto. He currently resides in Toronto with his wife, Ivy.

www.bychancealone.com

Max Eisen's profile page