Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Classics

Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea

by (author) Lucy Maud Montgomery

Nimbus Publishing
Initial publish date
Mar 2024
Classics, Coming of Age
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Mar 2024
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


A new series of beautiful bindups illustrated by Briana Corr Scott brings readers affordable, collectors' editions of the beloved Anne of Green Gables novels.

With a beautiful new cover by celebrated illustrator Briana Corr Scott, Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic books Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea are available together as the first in a series of new bindup editions.

In Anne of Green Gables, eleven-year-old orphan Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables by mistake; Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert wanted a boy. But for Anne, the enchanting farm and surrounding island community are a dream come true. Thanks to her endearing nature, Anne wins the hearts of the Cuthberts, surprising them with adventure at every turn.

At sixteen, Anne is grown up—sort of. The second book in the series, Anne of Avonlea follows L. M. Montgomery's red-headed darling as she begins her new job as a schoolteacher and becomes curious about the strange yet handsome Gilbert Blythe. Anne enters adulthood with her trademark humour, imagination, and sense of adventure.

About the author

Lucy Maud Montgomery was born in Clifton (now New London), Prince Edward Island, in 1874. After the death of her mother in 1876, Montgomery was raised by her maternal grandparents in the nearby community of Cavendish. She received a teaching certificate in 1894, and studied literature at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1895. After a brief career as a teacher at various island schools, she moved back to Cavendish in 1898. In 1911, she married the Reverend Ewan Macdonald and moved to Leaskdale, Ontario, where Macdonald was minister in the Presbyterian Church. A prolific writer, she published a number of short stories, poems, and novels, but is best known for Anne of Green Gables and its sequels: Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Poplars, Anne's House of Dreams, Anne of Ingleside, Rainbow Valley, and Rilla Of Ingleside. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942 and was buried in her beloved Cavendish, Prince Edward Island.

Lucy Maud Montgomery's profile page

Other titles by

Related lists