Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

After the Angel Mill

by (author) Carol Bruneau

Cormorant Books
Initial publish date
May 1996
Short Stories (single author)
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 1996
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


This linked collection chronicles four generations of women in a Cape Breton family, women who represent the unsung multitude who have struggled through the years to make homes and keep families clothed and fed, while the men went down into the mines. The stories lay bare the grief and disappointments — as well as the stoical sense of humour — of working-class women living in an economically-deprived but fiercely cohesive community. Always these characters long for something better, their hopes and dreams tempered with grim acceptance, and a bred-in-the-bone will to survive.  

About the author

Carol Bruneau's most recent title from Cormorant Books is Glass Voices. She is also the author of Berth. Her novel Purple For Sky (Cormorant, 2000) won the City of Dartmouth Fiction Prize and the Thomas H. Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize. She is also the author of two collections of short stories, Depth Rapture and After the Angel Mill, both published by Cormorant Books. She has taught creative writing in the continuing education departments of Mount St.Vincent University and Nova Scotia Community College; she is now on faculty of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University, where she teaches writing. Carol lives in Halifax with her husband and three sons.

Carol Bruneau's profile page

Other titles by Carol Bruneau