On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771513746_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $25.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: Apr 2021
ISBN:9781771513746
publisher: TouchWood Ediitons

A Sorrowful Sanctuary

by Iona Whishaw, read by Marilla Wex

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
women sleuths, historical
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $25.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: Apr 2021
ISBN:9781771513746
publisher: TouchWood Ediitons
Description

 

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls “terrific,” Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King’s Cove.

Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?

Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela’s young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach—a bright red swastika lapel pin—that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author’s own mother, who was a wartime spy.

 

About the Authors

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.

Author profile page >

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

 

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.

 

Editorial Review

 

“Whishaw’s intricately plotted fifth Lane Winslow mystery opens with a bang...Whishaw brings all the narrative threads together for a satisfying finale. Progress in the often fraught personal relationship between Lane and Darling will please series fans.” —Publishers Weekly

“An excellent mystery complemented by an appealingly down-to-earth look at life in postwar Western Canada.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Whishaw’s series follows ex-intelligence officer Lane Winslow as she searches for a new start in British Columbia, Canada in 1946, but the war and its repercussions are never far from the characters’ minds. The setting is fresh and the cast endearing, and Lane’s spy skills turn out to be quite handy in solving murders. The author based Lane on her mother, who was a real spy during the Second World War, and her devotion to the facts show.” —CrimeReads

“Engrossing and deftly plotted, the latest Lane Winslow Mystery is sure to enthrall readers. Filled with rich history, clever intrigue, and subtle romance, this series is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal.” —Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby and Verity Kent Mysteries

“While there’s no question you should read it — it’s excellent — a dilemma remains: Should you read it now, or wait until you’ve read the previous titles in the series first?... While you could wait forever to read the series from the start (many books, little time, etc.), the taste offered by A Sorrowful Sanctuary of Lane Winslow and her companions pretty much guarantees you won’t be waiting much longer to go back to the beginning and read everything about them.” —Toronto Star

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Iona Whishaw

A Killer in King's Cove

A Killer in King's Cove

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged : women sleuths
More Info
An Old, Cold Grave

An Old, Cold Grave

A Lane Winslow Mystery
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Audiobook
More Info
Death in a Darkening Mist

Death in a Darkening Mist

A Lane Winslow Mystery
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Audiobook
More Info

Other Titles by Marilla Wex

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...