On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771512893_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2018
ISBN:9781771512893
publisher: TouchWood Editions

A Sorrowful Sanctuary

A Lane Winslow Mystery

by Iona Whishaw

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
historical, women sleuths
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2018
ISBN:9781771512893
publisher: TouchWood Editions
Description

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls “terrific,” Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King’s Cove.

Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?

Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela’s young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach—a bright red swastika lapel pin—that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author’s own mother, who was a wartime spy.

About the Author

Iona Whishaw was born in British Columbia. After living her early years in the Kootenays, she spent her formative years living and learning in Mexico, Nicaragua, and the US. She travelled extensively for pleasure and education before settling in the Vancouver area. Throughout her roles as youth worker, social worker, teacher, and award-winning high school principal, her love of writing remained consistent, and compelled her to obtain her master’s in creative writing from the University of British Columbia. Iona has published short fiction, poetry, poetry translation, and one children’s book, Henry and the Cow Problem. A Killer in King’s Cove was her first adult novel. Her heroine, Lane Winslow, was inspired by Iona’s mother who, like her father before her, was a wartime spy. Visit ionawhishaw.com to find out more.

Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

If you’ve yet to meet Lane Winslow, erstwhile spy and reluctant detective, you’re in for a treat. Iona Whishaw writes with an eye for the telling detail; she conjures a vanished British Columbia out of thin air. Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages.

— Francine Matthews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

Engrossing and deftly plotted, the latest Lane Winslow Mystery is sure to enthrall readers. Filled with rich history, clever intrigue, and subtle romance, this series is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal.

— Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby and Verity Kent Mysteries

Captures the tone and depth of a mystery entwined in a story about people taking painful steps forward with post WWII life. Vivid plotting, inventive dialogue in a setting that puts you right in the action. This is one of the best series currently in print.

— Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

An excellent mystery complemented by an appealingly down-to-earth look at life in postwar Western Canada.

— Kirkus Reviews

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Iona Whishaw

A Killer in King's Cove

A Killer in King's Cove

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged : women sleuths
More Info
An Old, Cold Grave

An Old, Cold Grave

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
Death in a Darkening Mist

Death in a Darkening Mist

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...