Recommended Reading List
What to read after "Cat Person"...
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

What to read after "Cat Person"...

By 49thShelf
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
Did you read "Cat Person," by Kristen Roupenian in The New Yorker, and cringe with recognition and/or have all kinds of complicated feelings and responses whose instigation is one of the most miraculous things fiction can do? If you're looking for more terrific short stories along those lines, we recommend the following collections....
How Does A Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?

How Does A Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?

edition:Paperback

Building on the success of the Journey Prize-shortlisted title story, the stories of How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun? present an updated and whimsical new take on what it means to be Canadian. Lau alludes to the personal and political histories of a number of young Asian Canadian characters to explain their unique perspectives of the world, artfully fusing pure delusion and abstract perception with heartbreaking reality.

Correspondingly, the book's title refers to an interview with …

More Info
Bobcat and Other Stories

Bobcat and Other Stories

edition:Paperback

At turns heartbreaking and wise, tender and wry, Bobcat and Other Stories establishes Rebecca Lee as one of the most powerful and original voices in Canadian literature.

A university student on her summer abroad is offered the unusual task of arranging a friend's marriage. Secret infidelities and one guest's dubious bobcat-related injury propel a Manhattan dinner party to its unexpected conclusion. Students at an elite architecture retreat seek the wisdom of their revered mentor but end up learn …

More Info
This Cake is for the Party

This Cake is for the Party

Stories
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback

Finalist for the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize and longlisted for the 2010 Frank O’Connor Award
Sarah Selecky’s first book takes dead aim at a young generation of men and women who often set out with the best of intentions, only to have plans thwarted or hopes betrayed.
These are stories about friendships and relationships confused by unsettling tensions bubbling beneath the surface. A woman who plans to conceive ends up in the arms of her husband’s best friend; a man who baby-sits a ne …

More Info
Canary

Canary

edition:Paperback
tagged : literary

An AMAZON.CA Top 100 Book of 2013

"Gas, grass, or ass: No one rides for free". So begins this cheeky and chirpy short story debut by Nancy Jo Cullen. Working-class, a little queer, and a lot funny, Cullen''s characters-from the hymn-singing Catholic merch salesman to the young lez, hitching rides beside a born-again pile of ashes-encounter the killer decisions that will invisibly, quietly, and quirkily shape our lives.

Nancy Jo Cullen mines humanity's beautiful fault-lines. There isnot one lousy …

More Info
Bad Endings

Bad Endings

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback

Finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. Winner of the City of Vancouver Book Award. Top 100 of 2017, Globe and Mail.

“… Baker pushes readers to reconsider their desire for resolution. Eschewing the easy, the neat, the smoothed over, allows us to consider the things about ourselves we might not like. There’s a political dimension to this. One thread running through this book is the threat of environmental collapse – drought, massive bee death, dwindling salmon stock – and h …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...