On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443458856_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99 USD
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2020
ISBN:9781443460729
publisher: HarperCollins

Worry

A Novel

by Jessica Westhead

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $15.99 USD
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2020
ISBN:9781443460729
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

A riveting novel about a mother’s all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty

Ruth is the fiercely protective mother of almost-four-year-old Fern. Together they visit a remote family cottage belonging to Stef, the woman who has been Ruth’s best friend—and Ruth's husband’s best friend—for years. Stef is everything Ruth is not—confident, loud, carefree—and someone Ruth cannot seem to escape. While Fern runs wild with Stef’s older twins and dockside drinks flow freely among the adults, they’re joined by Stef’s neighbour Marvin, a man whose frantic pursuit of fun is only matched by his side comments about his absent wife. As day moves into night and darkness settles over the woods, the edges between these friends and a stranger sharpen until a lingering suspicion becomes an undeniable threat.

Editorial Reviews

“Jessica Westhead is one of the finest prose writers in this country.”

— Zoe Whittall, bestselling author of <em>The Best Kind of People</em>

“An eerie, twist-filled story. With striking precision, Westhead dissects parenting and relationships in the age of anxiety. A riveting read.”  

— Katrina Onstad, acclaimed author of <em>Everybody Has Everything</em> 

“In Worry, Jessica Westhead deftly plumbs the anxiety that can arise from attachment. This compelling novel explores not only the tensions between dependence and freedom, but also the tricky, shifting nature of love itself.”

— Meg Wolitzer, bestselling author of <em>The Interestings</em>

“I read Worry in one sleepless, unbroken gulp. Jessica Westhead renders parenthood as a riveting high-wire act, and imbues a seemingly ordinary lakeside vacation with suspense and menace that lingers long after reading. . . An irresistible novel from its first pages to its devastating end.”

— Kim Fu, author of <em>The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore</em>

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Jessica Westhead

We Are All About Wendy Now

We Are All About Wendy Now

edition:eBook
More Info
Pulpy and Midge

Pulpy and Midge

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
And Also Sharks

And Also Sharks

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...