On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781982117900_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
published: Jan 2019
ISBN:9781982117900
publisher: Simon & Schuster

Where I Live Now

A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

by Sharon Butala

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
personal memoirs, literary, women
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
published: Jan 2019
ISBN:9781982117900
publisher: Simon & Schuster
Description

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

“It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.” —Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory—of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country’s true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

About the Author
Sharon Butala is an award-winning and bestselling author of both fiction and nonfiction. Her classic book The Perfection of the Morning was a #1 bestseller and a finalist for the Governor General’s Award. Fever, a short story collection, won the 1992 Authors’ Award for Paperback Fiction and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for best book (Canada and Caribbean region). Her latest novel, Wild Rose, was published in 2015 and has been shortlisted for the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. Butala is a recipient of the Marian Engel Award, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, and the 2012 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence. In 2002 she became an Officer of the Order of Canada. A brilliant speaker who is much in demand, she lives in Calgary, Alberta. Visit her at SharonButala.com.
Author profile page >

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Sharon Butala

Gone But Not Forgotten

Gone But Not Forgotten

Tales of the Disappearing Grain Elevators
edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info
Garden Of Eden

Garden Of Eden

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
tagged :
More Info

Real Life

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
tagged :
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...