On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781982156756_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $7.52 USD
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2021
ISBN:9781982156756
publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Winter Sea

by Susanna Kearsley

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
scottish, historical
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $7.52 USD
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: Jan 2021
ISBN:9781982156756
publisher: Simon & Schuster
Description

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A haunting tale of love across time perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series—from New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

1707. The walls of Slains castle shelter Jacobite rebels, who are conspiring to sail the young, exiled James Stewart from France into Scotland to reclaim his crown—and a young woman caught up in their plot.
Present day. Writer Carrie McClelland is enchanted by an impromptu trip to Cruden Bay, Scotland, and decides to settle in the tiny village, hoping to find inspiration for her novel about the Jacobite uprising in the area’s evocative past—and in the haunting ruins of the castle.
She creates a heroine named after one of her own ancestors, Sophia Paterson, and quickly finds the words flowing, almost faster than she can write them down. But, discovering that her novel inexplicably contains more fact than she can remember researching, Carrie wonders if she could possibly be dealing with ancestral memory—in effect “recalling” what her ancestor lived.
The only way to discover the truth is to continue writing and to bring to light the whole of Sophia’s story. With each new chapter, Carrie uncovers the tale of an innocent entangled in a dangerous enterprise, the secret of forbidden love, and the final betrayal that cost James his throne—and may cost Sophia her heart.

About the Author
Susanna Kearsley is a New York Times, USA TODAY, and Globe and Mail bestselling author and former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, interweaving historical intrigue with modern suspense. Her books, published in translation in more than twenty countries, have won the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards, a RITA Award, and National Readers’ Choice Awards, and have finaled for the UK’s Romantic Novel of the Year and the Crime Writers of Canada’s Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel. She lives near Toronto. Visit her at SusannaKearsley.com or follow her on Twitter @SusannaKearsley.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Susanna Kearsley is a New York Times, USA TODAY, and Globe and Mail bestselling author and former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, interweaving historical intrigue with modern suspense. Her books, published in translation in more than twenty countries, have won the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards, a RITA Award, and National Readers’ Choice Awards, and have finaled for the UK’s Romantic Novel of the Year and the Crime Writers of Canada’s Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel. She lives near Toronto. Visit her at SusannaKearsley.com or follow her on Twitter @SusannaKearsley.

Editorial Reviews

“Kearsley’s obvious love of history is infectious."
— GAIL ANDERSON-DARGATZ, author of A Recipe for Bees


“Perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.”
— 49th Shelf


“Sometimes an author catches lightning in a bottle, and Susanna Kearsley has done just that.”
The New York Journal of Books


Praise for The Winter Sea


“A sweeping historical fantasy novel about love, danger, and time travel(!!), Susanna Kearsley masterfully weaves Scotland’s past into the present in this stunning read.”
— The Kit


“An epic romance for an epic season, by one of Canada’s best historical-fiction writers.”
— The Globe and Mail


“I’ve loved every one of Susanna’s books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly’s delicate touch with characters—sure recipe for historical fiction that pulls you in and won’t let go!”
DIANA GABALDON, New York Times bestselling author of the Outlander series


Praise for Bellewether


“A terrific read, evocative and romantic.”
— NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Scandals of an Innocent


“Kearsley has written a marvelous book.”
— BERNARD CORNWELL, author of The Burning Land


“This new title from New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley grapples with the largest of themes: love and justice. Kearsley, a former museum curator, possesses a deep passion for historical detail, and an unflinching determination to confront the atrocities of the past. As such, this narrative is as much an anti-slavery tract as it is a romance.” 
Toronto Star

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...