On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443450423_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: April 2016
ISBN:9781443450423
publisher: HarperCollins

The Painted Girls

by Cathy Marie Buchanan

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: April 2016
ISBN:9781443450423
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

Paris, 1878. Following her father’s sudden death, Marie van Goethem is dispatched to the Paris Opéra, where for a scant wage she is trained to enter the famous Ballet. Her older sister, Antoinette, finds work—and the love of a dangerous young man—as an extra on the stage. Marie is soon modeling in the studio of renowned artist Edgar Degas, who will immortalize her image forever, while Antoinette must make the choice between a life of honest labor and the more profitable avenues open to a willing young woman—that is, unless her perilous love derails her completely.

Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, and societal change, The Painted Girls is a tale of two remarkable sisters rendered uniquely vulnerable to the darker impulses of civilized society.

Praise for THE PAINTED GIRLS

  • #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER
  • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • NPR BEST BOOK
  • GOOD HOUSEKEEPING BEST BOOK
  • GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD FINALIST
  • ONTARIO PUBLIC LIBRARY EVERGREEN AWARD WINNER
  • CHATELAINE BOOK CLUB PICK
  • PEOPLE MAGAZINE PICK
  • ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY MUST LIST PICK
  • VANITY FAIR HOT TYPE PICK
  • VOGUE BOOKS PEOPLE ARE TALKING ABOUT PICK
  • HARPER’S BAZAAR WHAT WE’RE READING NOW PICK
  • USA TODAY NEW & NOTEWORTHY PICK
  • CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR SMART NEW HISTORICAL NOVELS PICK
  • SAN FRANCISO CHRONICLE BOOK RECOMMENDATION
  • BOSTON GLOBE WORD ON THE STREET PICK
  • INDIE NEXT PICK
  • GOOD MORNING TEXAS BUY THE BOOK PICK
  • ASPEN DAILY NEWS BOOKSELLERS STAFF PICK
  • ZOOMER BOOKMARK PICK
  • SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK
  • SAFEWAY BOOK OF THE MONTH
About the Author

Cathy Marie Buchanan

CATHY MARIE BUCHANAN’s The Painted Girls was a #1 national bestseller in Canada and a New York Times bestseller. It garnered rave reviews and was a People magazine pick, was included on Entertainment Weekly’s “Must List” and was named a Best Book of 2013 by NPR, Good Housekeeping and Goodreads. Her debut novel, The Day the Falls Stood Still, was a New York Times bestseller and a Barnes & Noble “Recommends” selection. She holds a BSc and an MBA from Western University. Born and raised in Niagara Falls, Ontario, she now lives in Toronto.

Connect with Cathy:

WEB: CATHYMARIEBUCHANAN.COM

TWITTER: @CATHYMBUCHANAN

FACEBOOK: FACEBOOK.COM/CATHYMARIEBUCHANAN

Author profile page >
Awards
  • , OLA Evergreen Award
Editorial Reviews

“Two impoverished sisters in Belle époque Paris enter the world of the ballet (Degas) and theater (Zola) but also face temptations that can lure young women in the demimonde.”

— USA Today

“Buchanan does a masterful job of interweaving historical figures into her plot, but it is the moving yet unsentimental portrait of family love, of two sisters struggling to survive with dignity, that makes this a must-read.”

— Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong>

“In The Painted Girls, a carefully researched, deeply imagined historical novel . . . the Belle époque comes to vibrant, often aching life.”

— Chicago Tribune

History, coming of age and the art of Degas’s beloved dancers are woven together in this enchanting novel. Utterly captivating.

— Vincent Lam, author of The Headmaster's Wager and Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

“Buchanan achieves all that historical fiction asks for in The Painted Girls.”

— Vancouver Sun

“Buchanan’s prose is as haunting as it is elegant.”

— Harper's Bazaar

“Buchanan paints the girls who spring from the page as vibrantly as a dancer’s leap across a stage. . . . A captivating story of fate, tarnished ambition and the ultimate triumph of sister-love.”

— Washington Post

“Richly imagined. . . . Amid the glamour of tutus and art emerges a surprisingly gritty story of survival in the gutters of Belle époque Paris.”

— Entertainment Weekly

“There’s no doubting or denying that Buchanan is a writer, born and made-a masterful narrator who can start with historical people and places and overlay them with powerful stories from her imagination.”

— Costco Connection

“Beautiful and haunting. From the first page, I was swept up and enchanted.”

— Amy Greene, author of Bloodroot

“Based on historical figures and incidents, this novel of family, romance, degradation, and fulfillment delivers great atmosphere and fully-realized characters.”

— Boston Globe

Sketched in rich detail and teeming with suspense. The Painted Girls is hard to put down.

— The Globe and Mail

“You will be swept away by The Painted Girls. Wonderfully imagined and masterfully rendered . . . [it] will change the way you see the world of ballet, art and the lives it portrays.”

— Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times and internationally bestselling author of Secret Daughter and The Golden Son

The reader is completely absorbed in the struggle of Marie to rise above her circumstances. . . . [A] convincing, heartfelt story.

— National Post

“Sisters, dance, art, ambition, and intrigue in late 1800s Paris. The Painted Girls offers the best of historical fiction: compelling characters brought backstage at l’Opera and front and center in Degas’ studio. This one has “book club favorite” written all over it.”

— Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters

“Fascinating. . . . Meticulously researched.”

— Quill & Quire

“Buchanan writes masterfully about the hard life of two sisters in 19th-century Paris. . . . A wonderful tale, beautifully told.”

— Terry Fallis, author of The Best Laid Plans

“A dark valentine to Belle époque Paris.”

— Vogue

You will be swept away by The Painted Girls. Wonderfully imagined and masterfully rendered . . . [it] will change the way you see the world of ballet, art and the lives it portrays.

— Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times and internationally bestselling author of Secret Daughter

“[Buchanan] treats her girls with far greater care than do their contemporaries, seeing worth in them despite their misjudgments and calamities.”

— Christian Science Monitor

“The struggle of three sisters in 19th-century Paris blossoms into the rich history of Marie van Goethem, model for Edgar Degas’s controversial statue, Little Dancer, Aged Fourteen . . . Buchanan captures their story in this engrossing depiction of belle époque Paris.”

— Publishers Weekly

“Part mystery, part love story, The Painted Girls breathes heart and soul into a fascinating era of the City of Lights. One can’t help but be drawn in by this compelling and lyrical tale of sister love and rivalry.”

— Heidi W. Durrow, author of The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

“As two sisters’ paths converge and spiral out of control, Buchanan powerfully . . . depicts their efforts to navigate the slippery ethical terrain facing them in an era when a young woman’s most lucrative asset was her body.”

— Bust Magazine

“History, coming of age and the art of Degas’s beloved dancers are woven together in this enchanting novel. Utterly captivating.”

— Vincent Lam, author of The Headmaster's Wager and Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

“Historical fiction at its finest. . . . Buchanan also explores the uneasy relationship between artist and muse with both compassion and soul-searing honesty.”

— Melanie Benjamin, author of Alice I Have Been and The Aviator's Wife

“We know some, but not all, details of Marie’s life. To provide a full story, those details have been vividly and believably embroidered by Toronto author Cathy Marie Buchanan in a gritty and compelling new novel titled The Painted Girls.”

— Ottawa Citizen

“In this compelling tale, we meet fictionalised Marie Van Goethem (one of the young dancers who posed for Degas) and her sister, whose journeys out of the Paris slums evoke the light and dark of the Belle époque.”

— Good Housekeeping

“Belle époque Paris springs to life under the sure hand of Cathy Marie Buchanan. . . . In this book I found a lovely braiding of the real and invented, a seductive world I did not want to leave.”

— NPR

Buchanan weaves real and fictional characters and their stories to create a rich stew of drunkards, deceivers and ne’er-do-wells, seasoned by the occasional soft-hearted soul, who change the lives of the sisters.

— Toronto Star

“A realistically robust portrait of working-class life in late nineteenth-century Paris. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Tracy Chevalier, Susan Vreeland, and Melanie Benjamin.”

— Booklist

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...