On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780385678261_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $14.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: April 2014
ISBN:9780385678261

The Oathbreaker's Shadow

by Amy McCulloch

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
fantasy & magic
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $14.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: April 2014
ISBN:9780385678261
Description

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, and George R.R. Martin are going to love this action-filled fantasy novel by an exciting and extremely promotable debut voice in the genre. 
     In the world of fifteen-year-old Raim, you tie a knot for every promise you make. Break that promise and the knot will burst into flames, scarring your skin and forever marking you as an oathbreaker. Raim has worn a simple knot around his wrist for as long as he can remember. No one seems to know where it came from or which promise it symbolizes, and Raim barely thinks about it at all--especially not since he became the most promising young fighter ever to train for the elite Yun guard. But on the day that he binds his life to that of his best friend (and the future king), Khareh, the rope ignites and sears a dark mark into his skin. Scarred now as an oathbreaker, Raim has two options: run or be killed. He chooses to run, taking refuge in the vast desert among a colony of exiled oathbreakers. Will he be able to learn the skills he needs to clear his name? And even if he can, how can he keep a promise he never knew he made in the first place?

Contributor Notes

AMY McCULLOCH is an editor and writer based in London. A pop-culture obsessive, her love for teen culture is matched only by her love of science fiction and fantasy, which she edits for a major publishing house in the UK. She is originally from Ottawa, Ontario.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
12 to 100
Grade:
7 to 17
Editorial Review

Praise for Amy McCulloch:
 • "Brilliant. Absolutely gripping from the start; a complete joy and a great new voice." --Conn Iggulden, author of The Dangerous Book for Boys and the Emperor Series
 • "The Oathbreaker's Shadow is a very promising debut in what bodes to be an electrifying duology.Unusual magic set in an exotic location and nomadic culture lures the reader to total immersion in Raim's world. Questions of loyalty versus morality are fearlessly faced. When can friendship survive betrayal? --Robin Hobb

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “The Oathbreaker's Shadow”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...