On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443438643_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Audiobook eBook Paperback
published: Sep 2015
ISBN:9781443438629
publisher: HarperCollins

The Nest

by Kenneth Oppel, illustrated by Jon Klassen

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
horror & ghost stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: Audiobook eBook Paperback
published: Sep 2015
ISBN:9781443438629
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

About the Authors

Kenneth Oppel published his first book, Colin’s Fantastic Video Adventure at the age of eighteen. He has since written numerous books for young readers, including the Silverwing trilogy, which has sold over a million copies worldwide. He lives in Toronto with his wife and their three children.

Author profile page >

Jon Klassen is a Canadian-born author-illustrator. He has written and illustrated the acclaimed Hat series, including I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat, and We Found a Hat. Highlights of his illustrated books are Cats’ Night Out by Caroline Stutson, Sam & Dave Dig A Hole by Mac Barnett, The Dark by Lemony Snicket, and The Wolf, The Duck & The Mouse also by Mac Barnett. His books have won a Caldecott medal and two Caldecott honors and other international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California, with his wife and son.
Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
10 to 100
Grade:
5 to 17
Awards
  • , CBC Best Book of the Year
  • , Horn Book Fanfare
  • , Publishers Weekly Best Book
  • , CLA Children’s Book of the Year Award Winner
  • , Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year
  • , Silver Birch Award Finalist
  • , School Library Journal Best Book
Editorial Reviews

“This quiet yet emotionally haunting book thoughtfully explores themes of safety, anxiety, and the beauty of the imperfect . . . [An] affecting middle grade psychological thriller.”

— School Library Journal <strong>(starred review)</strong>

“A tight and focused story about the dangers of wishing things back to normal at any cost . . . the emotional resonance is deep, and Steve’s precarious interactions with the honey-voiced queen make one’s skin crawl.”

— Horn Book <strong>(starred review)</strong>

School Library Journal Book of the Year Publishers’ Weekly Book of the Year Horn Book Fanfare Book New York Times’ Editors’ Choice Wall Street Journal Book of the Year Indigo Books Book of the Year

— No Source

“A masterpiece, and deeply heartening proof that two of our country’s best artists are continuing to take risks and grow artistically, even at the height of their careers.”

— The Globe and Mail

“With subtle, spine-chilling horror at its heart, this tale of triumph over monsters-both outside and in-is outstanding . . . a match made in kid-lit heaven.”

— <em>Booklist </em><strong>(starred review)</strong>

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...